Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 4, 2014

GUEST VIEW: Women deserve a chance to serve on Lewiston Town Board

Niagara Gazette — In the past 10 years, several vacancies have occurred on the Lewiston town board. Each time a vacancy occurs the individual chosen wasn’t a woman. Since being incorporated nearly 200 years ago only four women have been elected to serve on the Lewiston town board. I’m honored to have been one of those women but it doesn’t explain why with more than half of Lewiston’s voting population whenever a vacancy happens on the town board women, for some reason, are never appointed. Why?

Recently, there was another vacancy on the Lewiston Town Board and was a woman appointed? No. Why? What could be the reason or reasons why women are excluded? Could it be that women aren’t involved in the issues facing Lewiston? I doubt that’s the case. All one has to do is attend a town board meeting to answer that question. Lewiston women are very knowledgeable with regard to the issues facing our community and they are quite vocal about expressing that knowledge. Could it be that with Lewiston facing possible financial woes some believe women don’t have enough financial insight with regard to monetary management? Again, I doubt that’s the case, I use the following as examples. In today’s financial world the three most powerful individuals are women — Janet Yellan, chair of the Federal Reserve, Christine Lagarde, head of the I.M.F., a.k.a. International Monetary Fund and Angela Merkel the individual responsible for influencing European finances. These three women control and influence the finances of not only many countries but many men. If you look around you will find women occupying offices internationally, nationally and locally not only in finances but as heads of government. In fact, I understand one of the individuals who applied for the vacant Lewiston Town Board seat was a woman with 30 years experience in finances. With Lewiston facing serious financial problems, why wasn’t she appointed? Could it be she wasn’t a member of the “political club?” Or maybe she wasn’t the hand-picked appointment of someone with a lot of political influence?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page