Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 10, 2013

GLYNN: Early birds will witness fort assault as War of 1812 springs to life in Youngstown

Niagara Gazette — If you’re really interested in getting an accurate glimpse of local history, mark the calendar for about 4 a.m. Dec. 19.

The British troops (reenactors) will once again assault Fort Niagara at 5 a.m., precisely 200 years after they seized the vital post in 1813. The public is invited to the free event, a fort spokesman said, but spectators must arrive between 4:30 a.m. and 4:45 a.m.  

After the fort is captured, the soldiers will recreate the burning of Youngstown during a ceremony at 7:15 a.m. in Faulkner Park. Flares lit in the park will symbolize the destruction of the small village two centuries ago. (Earlier, the Americans troops had wreaked havoc on Newark.)

Robert Emerson, executive director of the Old Fort Niagara Association, says the committee is planning a community breakfast that will begin a 7:30 p.m. at restaurants in the village. Two presentations are scheduled at St. John’s Episcopal Church, Main Street. At 8:15 a.m., Anne Marie Linnaberry of the Niagara County Historical Society will provide a power point talk on the War of 1812 and “Niagara on Fire,” a short film focusing on the burning of Newark (now Niagara-on-the-Lake) will be shown at 9 a.m.

That same morning students from Lewiston-Porter, Wilson, Tuscarora Elementary and Stella Niagara will arrive at the fort for an interpretive program about the 1813 attack. Later, they will go into the village to one of four sites where they’ll learn about civilian life in those days and the impact of the war on the local residents.

That night, people will gather for the “Flames through Lewiston” reenactment and the unveiling of the Tuscarora Heroes monument at Center Street and Portage Road, Lewiston. More details to come.

•••

A KEY POST: It’s nice to see Ray Wigle, a veteran of Niagara area tourism, back in the local hospitality industry. He was the communications director of the former Niagara Falls Convention and Visitors Bureau and later operations director at Old Fort Niagara. Wigle now serves as director of development at the Niagara County History Center for the Erie Canal Discovery Center, Lockport.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Fire Engulfs Tower Block in China Ocean Drones Making Waves in Research World Breakfast Foods Are Getting Pricier Raw: Ferry Captain Received Medical Treatment Hundreds Gather for Denver Pot Rally on Easter Transcript Reveals Confusion in Ferry Evacuation Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page