Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 3, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Campaign lies refuted: By the numbers

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — The city engineer’s position is vacant, but research suggests we have to restore the salary paid to the last occupant in order to get a qualified candidate; the position is stipulated in the City Charter and cannot be left vacant indefinitely. $4,293 is to bring the salary of the administrative assistant to the city administrator in line with that of the assistant to the mayor, as has traditionally been the case. (The city council pays their assistant more, but he’s a man, whereas the other two are women. Does that seem fair?)

Overtime for all departments (including police, fire and DPW) is up $517,498 from what was budgeted for 2013. But wait a minute ... 2010 overtime was $2.5 million; 2011 and 2012 were $2.3 million; and then council cut overtime drastically to $1.5 million for 2013. I said at the time this would not be enough; police overtime especially was cut to an unrealistically low number. Council countered by created a “contingency account” (basically a slush fund) that was used to cover the mistakes made in the final budget they passed. What is total overtime year-to-date? About $2.5 million with two months to go! What did I propose for 2014? $2.0 million —up half a million from the unrealistic 2013 number, but less than what we actually spent in any of the last four years.

The same is basically true for wages for temporary and seasonal personal. I proposed a little over $500,000 for 2014, which is up substantially ($183,000) from last year’s unrealistically low $318,000, but still less than the $550,000 we spent in 2010. And remember — last year, because of the casino cash problem, was a low point for spending on popular, job-producing programs like Clean Neighborhoods and ZOOM (which is funded with casino revenues). Those programs are included in the 2014 proposal along with recreation, parks, streets, etc.

So, after all that, where are the alleged “raises” for “political cronies?” Out of the entire $1.1 million “increase” in wages alleged in the negative mailers, a grand total of $41,000 is proposed for stipends.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page