Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 3, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Campaign lies refuted: By the numbers

Niagara Gazette — Recent negative campaign mailers attacking Councilman Charles Walker — one paid for by the Republican State Committee and one by the allied Niagara County Independence Party — contain the allegation that he supports $1.1 million in “raises” for either “key mayoral staffers” (that’s the Republican mailer) or “the top political cronies in city hall” (that’s the Independence Party version). As you probably assumed when you received these mailers, that isn’t true. It’s a lie.

Nevertheless, I was curious to try to figure out where these spin-masters came up with the number “$1.1 million.” So I did a little research. Here’s what I found.

The bi-weekly line for wages in the proposed 2014 budget is indeed up over 2013. Where does that come from? First, about $294,000 is for contractual longevity and step increases. These are non-discretionary increases contained in the various union contracts that were voted on by City Council and that, in the case of the public safety unions, may have been the result of a binding arbitration decision.

Second, $168,839 is to restore two positions that were cut from the 2013 budget — a budget done under duress because of the lack of casino revenues. The first position is that of city purchasing agent. When our long-time purchasing agent retired, we tried to do without for a year as an economy measure. The rest of the staff labored hard, but the experiment didn’t work. So we need to fill the position for 2014. The second position is that of senior business development director — the person who reviews applications for economic development grants and loans. This position, too, has been vacant since a retirement. Guess what? It’s paid with casino revenues; it doesn’t even impact taxes.

Then $63,301 is to restore cuts that were made in the salaries of two key positions during the casino impasse: the city administrator and the city engineer. The city administrator’s salary was negotiated after she was selected by a neutral panel following a national search. She’s nowhere near the highest paid city employee, and most school principals and many administrators at the Board of Education get paid as much or more.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page