Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 2, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: 'Hour' take on tonight's time change

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Malingerers — Happy Irony Day, and how will you celebrate? We call it Irony Day because it gives us an extra hour in exchange for the prospect of foul weather and lunch-hour sunsets.

Daylight Savings Time concludes tonight — actually, 2 a.m. Sunday. Turn your clock back, if you need to, some now slip into reverse automatically, we hear. There’s an extra hour’s sleep, except for nightshift workers (how DOES that work, anybody know?) If on time, overnight Amtrak trains will stop in their tracks to let time catch up. It’s crazy.

While seemingly new-fangled, the idea actually started with Ben Franklin, according to some reliable sources. He thought there was something wrong with the notion that the sun rose before he did, although then, every community had its own time. When railroads began truly uniting the states, the feds implemented Standard Time in 1883.

(For the record, Buffalo and Niagara Falls were on the western edge of Eastern Time. Anything to the west, including the acreage now occupied by Ralph Wilson Stadium, was on Central Time. Grand Island, it didn’t matter, anybody who lived here then obviously didn’t give a hang WHAT time it was).

As the days dwindle down (great song lyric) we exploit the remaining light as if it were going out of style (which, actually, it is). Wednesday, for example, we sized up the sunshine and just took off for a late-afternoon ride discovering, among other things, that Hibbard’s, the ice cream palace in Lewiston, had put a finger to the wind decided to re-open for a few days.

Hibbard’s last cone; even at today’s pump numbers, priceless.

We’ve tended in recent years to make Irony Day a holy day of obligation, to pile into the car (it does get 40 mpg, 60 Canadian) and head west to watch the sun set at a decent hour for the final time until next March 9 (we looked it up). Last year we came home with an ornate birdbath and 100 pounds of birdseed we’d won in a drawing in Angola.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page