Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 1, 2013

HAMILTON: Election 2013: Is it Albany or us?

Niagara Gazette — EDITOR’S NOTE: Ken Hamilton’s endorsements are his own and do not reflect the views of the Niagara Gazette.

Sen. George Maziarz has long said that Niagarans cannot make good decisions, and this November election may be the ultimate test of determining if we can or if we cannot.

I was a little surprised at how many local citizens were also surprised that Gov. Andrew Cuomo not only came to town to support a five-story, 100-room conception hotel in downtown Niagara Falls, but went on further to endorse two of the incumbents who were willing to endorse the deal of a developer who admitted that he had neither a major hotel chain partner and/or reservation system, nor the money to build the hotel without the city first giving him the land for what could clearly be argued pennies on the dollar.

Personally, while I wanted Hamister’s, the developer, ultimate success in building it, I applauded the so-called “council majority” for finally waking up and scrutinizing deals before they approved them, and possibly establishing a template for fully understanding the long-term ramifications of any policies and contracts that they vote on. Many other citizens, that “Silent Niagara Majority” that has to pay near full value on their property and all of their property taxes, also supported the idea of going into these areas with eyes wide open. I cannot help but to think that the hope that the majority brought to the citizenry was little more than a small hole through which the sun momentarily shone amidst the dark clouds that have so long surrounded us.

The irony in all of it is that most Niagarans have long thought, rightly or wrongly, that Albany has never been the solution. In fact, with agencies surrounding us like the Office of Parks and Historic Preservation, the New York State Power Authority, the Robert Moses Parkway, the Niagara Falls Bridge Authority, the Niagara Falls Water Board and the Seneca Nation’s casino contract — which excluded the input and participation of anyone living in Niagara Falls, most Niagarans believe that Albany is the problem!

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page