Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 1, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Time for a change in the Town of Lewiston

Niagara Gazette — Lewiston needs a new direction, new leadership and a different way for the town government to operate. As the Democratic candidate for Town of Lewiston supervisor, I represent a commitment to change and an end to the practices that have caused so many people in our town to lose fundamental trust and confidence in our town government.

Because of my love and respect for our community, I have devoted most of my spare time in trying to be an active member and volunteer for such groups as the Lewiston Community Lions Club, the Lewiston Kiwanis Club where I presently sit as a board member, Friends of the Lewiston Library and the Lower Niagara Moose Lodge.

For 10 years I have directed the Red Brick Bench Press Championships which has grown so large that we were forced to move it to the Connecticut Street Armory in Buffalo. This yearly fundraising event has raised over $94,000 for our U.S. troops and their families throughout Western New York. For the past two years I have been the chairman of the Kiwanis Block of Dollars for Women and Children’s Hospital and for the last several years a committee member of the Dave Q Memorial Bike Run with proceeds that have benefited local volunteer fire companies, Mercy Flight and Donate Life. In 2014 I will be serving as co-chairman of the 2014 Lewiston Peach Festival.

I will run the Town of Lewiston as a business. My personal accountant classified me years ago as being frugal and I will run Lewiston the same way. No more over-spending and stricter accountability. At the same time I will make sure the residents of the Town of Lewiston receive the great service that they have expected from our recreation, highway and water/sewer depts.

I will work to make every Lewiston resident safe in their homes and on our streets with adequate support given to our assets, the police and fire companies. As I have as a member of the Village of Lewiston Board of Trustees, I will continue to pressure Artpark to assume greater responsibility for police services for events. It’s a matter of fairness. Our town residents should not have to subsidize Artpark events producing substantial revenue.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page