Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 30, 2013

BRADBERRY: Bewitched, bothered, bewildered -- and delighted

Niagara Gazette — Ever get a song stuck in your head and you just can’t get rid of it no matter what you do? Well it happens to me; this time its Ella Fitzgerald’s 1956 rendition of the Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart song, Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered from the 1940 Broadway musical, Pal Joey.

For some strange reason, it put me in a Trick-or-Treat state of mind, reminding me of a time not so long ago when Halloween was safe, clean, fun.

I’m hoping that the good spirit of the tradition continues to return to its roots; it looks like it could be making a real comeback, and that could be a good thing. Safe streets, good, trusting, trust worthy neighbors and candy seem to go together, and they could certainly go a long way toward restoring faith and confidence in a city.

Personally, I like Halloween; I especially enjoy interacting with the little ones, the youngsters all decked out in cute costumes, made up like tiny pirates and princesses, not really trying to scare anyone, just collecting candy for the fun of it.

Respectful of the anti-religious twists and turns that some have painted the tradition with; I don’t particularly appreciate the darker, demonized side of Halloween, some of that stuff can go too far, and can be pretty scary for good reason.

I know people who spend the night in church, afraid that real demons straight from Hell actually walk the Earth on that night. Some are convinced that this new abundance of interest in all things zombie is clear evidence that Satan roams amongst us collecting souls; they could be right!

I have had a few tricksters, too old and too big to be kids appear at my door wearing what may not actually be costumes in what I hope and pray are disguises, peering too deeply into my eyes, lingering a little too long ...

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page