Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 5, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Four slices of Island life

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Browsers — Recently we enjoyed a night of theater called “Buffalo Rising” at Road Less Traveled on the Mainland, eight playlets defining the town in less than two hours. In that vein, here are four little slices of life here in paradise.

•••

REASSESS THIS: Amid much gnashing of teeth and beating of breasts, the town reassessed us all in February. Our assessment — that is, our bungalow’s taxable value — doubled. On grievance day, we fought it and failed. The town insisted our actual taxes would go down.

School taxes are due mid-month and this week, while sorting through documents for today’s Rotary Shred-a-Thon (11 a.m. -2 p.m., behind the Key Bank at Whitehaven and Grand Island Boulevard), we exhumed last year’s bill. Our taxes are, indeed, lower. For every four dollars we paid last year, this year we’re paying three.

Truth in government. Where have we gone wrong?

•••

NOT AS ADVERTISED: Conversely, there’s the big new poster in Tops seeming to offer a dollar back on any two dollars’ worth of fresh produce in a co-promotion with Independent Health.

Take it with a grain of salt. We called IHA, our insurer for many years, which told us that the program applies to only certain types of insurance, for which there is an extra rider, at a fee.

In short, there’s no such thing as a free bunch.

•••

KING OF THE ROAD: Sign in front of Certified Auto Brokers near the Roundabout – “Trailers for Sale or Rent.” Hard to drive by that without humming, “Rooms to let, fifty cents,” continuing Roger Miller’s 1964 tribute to troubadours. As it happens, there IS a relatively inexpensive inn almost next door. No pool, no pets.

•••

HAPPY MEAL: As Doug reached over the crowd for his bag of fries at McDonald’s Tuesday, so did a little towhead, maybe 4, in her father’s arms, reflexively grabbing at it with her free hand.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page