Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 4, 2013

HAMILTON: Milk, politicians and our housing authority

Niagara Gazette — Without a doubt, milk is my favorite beverage. For me, it has always represented the ultimate in purity, sweetness and refreshment. It is my comfort food.

But, when the Niagara Falls Housing Authority representatives showed up at a city council meeting this week, asking that the council support the repairing of a city-owned parking lot that is across the street from their own parking lot at Wrobel Towers, milk didn’t seem so sweet to me then.

Here’s why. I found myself driving down Calumet Avenue that evening after the meeting. Calumet runs through Norstar Development’s and the Niagara Falls Housing Authority’s HOPE-VI Center Court project. The street has lights on nearly every pole throughout the area, and is arguably made the most well-lit community in the city. I then said to myself that if the housing authority is asking the city to repair street lights in a city parking lot that is, for all intents and purposes, used exclusively by those who service Wrobel Towers, then they are now clearly trying to again ‘milk’ both the city and its taxpayers. For me, as it ought to be for you, too, that is no longer sweet and refreshing — but it is purely something else.

You see, city planning board members, as well as myself, insist that the cost of the Calumet Avenue streetlights were included in the developers’ approved plans, and that the cost of the placement of such should have been borne by them. Instead, they stuck a gullible city with the bill. Being successful at such, apparently they came back to the council’s Committee of the Whole (COW) to ask for more milk — again for free!

Now I don’t blame them; those authority representatives are doing their jobs. Institutions do what institutions do — and that is first and foremost, “whatever it takes” to preserve themselves. But it is time that the city leaders begin to do the same — and that is whatever it takes to preserve the fiscal position of the city, even at the risk of the mayor’s and the council’s own, individual positions.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page