Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 4, 2013

HAMILTON: Milk, politicians and our housing authority

Niagara Gazette — Without a doubt, milk is my favorite beverage. For me, it has always represented the ultimate in purity, sweetness and refreshment. It is my comfort food.

But, when the Niagara Falls Housing Authority representatives showed up at a city council meeting this week, asking that the council support the repairing of a city-owned parking lot that is across the street from their own parking lot at Wrobel Towers, milk didn’t seem so sweet to me then.

Here’s why. I found myself driving down Calumet Avenue that evening after the meeting. Calumet runs through Norstar Development’s and the Niagara Falls Housing Authority’s HOPE-VI Center Court project. The street has lights on nearly every pole throughout the area, and is arguably made the most well-lit community in the city. I then said to myself that if the housing authority is asking the city to repair street lights in a city parking lot that is, for all intents and purposes, used exclusively by those who service Wrobel Towers, then they are now clearly trying to again ‘milk’ both the city and its taxpayers. For me, as it ought to be for you, too, that is no longer sweet and refreshing — but it is purely something else.

You see, city planning board members, as well as myself, insist that the cost of the Calumet Avenue streetlights were included in the developers’ approved plans, and that the cost of the placement of such should have been borne by them. Instead, they stuck a gullible city with the bill. Being successful at such, apparently they came back to the council’s Committee of the Whole (COW) to ask for more milk — again for free!

Now I don’t blame them; those authority representatives are doing their jobs. Institutions do what institutions do — and that is first and foremost, “whatever it takes” to preserve themselves. But it is time that the city leaders begin to do the same — and that is whatever it takes to preserve the fiscal position of the city, even at the risk of the mayor’s and the council’s own, individual positions.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents Obama Reassures Japan on China Raw: Car Crashes Into San Antonio Pool Time Magazine Announces Top Influencers List Raw: Angry Relatives Confront SKorea Officials Bigger Riders Means Bigger Horses Out West Yankees Pineda Ejected for Pine Tar Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page