Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 3, 2013

Casino issue seems to draw little interest

Niagara Gazette — When the tourist industry here first touted casino gambling as a savior for the struggling Cataract City economy, public reaction was mixed.

Proponents, of course, envisioned it as the sure way to fill downtown hotels, boost the attendance at attractions, and create countless jobs for a community still battered by the recession and a steady decline in the manufacturing sector. The opponents, as you might expect, ran the gamut from Bible-thumping preachers to the staunch anti-gambling citizen groups like ‘Casinos —No Dice!’ and “Casinos Mean Mobs”)

Many of us have vivid memories of those days: the sharp cutbacks in local industries, hundreds of families impacted by the seemingly endless layoffs, and the tarnished image of Niagara Falls in the wake of the Love Canal disaster.

Even if casino gambling was a cure, local residents never had a chance to voice their opinion. Instead, the Albany lawmakers were bogged down in their turf battles — upstate v. downstate — and the matter was not approved by both houses at the Capitol. As a result, the long-anticipated question never appeared on the November ballot.

Now more than 30 years later, it will be one of the proposed amendments in the general election (Nov. 5). In fact, it will be the first of six amendments that voters will find across the top of the ballot, above all the candidates’ lines. At present, Gov. Cuomo, who supports the casino proposal, hasn’t done much to spread the word. Local residents can’t be blamed for their devil-may-care attitude toward the question. Don’t be surprised if it goes down the tubes.

Unfortunately, an incredible number of voters usually fail to vote on any of the amendments, whether by accident or design. Surveys have consistently shown that those voters beg off with the excuse they simply didn’t understand the wording.That won’t be the case this fall, at least with the casino question. As critics have noted, the wording is definitely slanted toward the pro-casino stand. After all, who’s going to vote against “promoting job growth, increasing aid to education, and permitting local governments to lower property taxes through revenues generated” by the casinos? Certainly not the Brooklyn lawyer who is suing the state Board of Elections for overstepping its authority in approving the referendum language.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page