Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 27, 2013

COPS NOTEBOOK: Big honor for Falls attorney; Explorers ready to meet

Niagara Gazette — Some good news to start.

An old friend and Niagara Falls native has just received one of the highest honors a lawyer can achieve.

Joseph LaTona has been named by Best Lawyers in America as its 2014 "Lawyer of the Year" in the area of white collar criminal defense.

In my years of covering the courts, from the towns to the U.S. Supreme Court, Joe has always been one of the top litigators I've watched. And don't just take it from me.

From judges to lawyers on the other side of the courtroom, Joe is universally admired for both his expertise and his professionalism. 

I'll tell you what else is cool about Joe. He's never forgotten his Niagara Falls roots. He is as passionate in his love for his hometown as he is in representing his clients.

Nice job Joe ... and well deserved congratulations.

•••

Time to Explore

It's that time of the year when Sheriff Jim Voutour announces the return of the the Niagara County Law Enforcement Explorers.

The next meeting of the Explorers will take place on Oct. 28, at 7 p.m. in the patrol room of Building 1 at the Niagara County Sheriff's Office, 5526 Niagara Street Ext., Lockport.

The Explorers are young adults who are interested in law enforcement as a career. The prime age for participation is 14 to 20. 

Explorer activities include tours of all of the major areas of the sheriff's Ooffice and classes in various law enforcement functions. 

The post meets on the second and fourth Monday of each month. If you are interested in the Explorers or have any questions, contact Patrick Williams at 523-0098.

•••

Open House

The Grand Island Fire Company will hold its annual Fire Prevention Open House from 5 to 8 p.m. on Oct. 10 at fire headquarters at 2275 Baseline Road. 

The open house will feature a "live fire" demonstration to show how fast and how hot a fire can develop. There will also be a host of other activities involving other fire, EMS and law enforcement agencies. 

Contact Reporter Rick Pfeiffer at 282-2311, ext. 2252.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page