Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 18, 2013

EDITORIAL: Thanks not deserved for Hamister approval

Niagara Gazette — It’s difficult to laud Councilman Robert Anderson Jr. for doing what we believe he and his colleagues in the Niagara Falls City Council majority should have done weeks ago. 

That being said, we’re glad — as are, we trust, the majority of city residents — to see Anderson come to his senses and reverse course on the stalled Hamister hotel project. 

As a result of his actions this week, the city and the state can now look forward to working with the Buffalo-based Hamister Group to build a $25 million, multi-story hotel and mixed use building on a piece of city owned land most recently used for parking cars at 310 Rainbow Blvd. 

Anderson insisted his sudden change of heart had nothing to do with the loss of fellow council majority member Sam Fruscione in last week’s Democratic primary for council. Instead, he said, all it took was a direct phone call from high-ranking state economic development official Sam Hoyt to change his mind. 

Honestly, we’re not sure what to believe anymore. 

What we do know is that all three members of the council majority come from working-class backgrounds and its obvious they take great pride in their community. 

That’s why it is so disappointing to realize they put politics and political games ahead of one of their community’s most pressing needs — economic development. It’s also why we are not willing to overlook their actions or forgive them regardless of what Anderson finally decided to do. 

As far as we’re concerned, the actions of the council majority contributed to the waste of one of the most valuable of all commodities to developers and community’s alike: Time. 

And how many times have members of the council majority railed against “Buffalo interests?” To know the majority’s position was reinforced by the supporters of the political action committee known as the WNY Progressive Caucus only makes this situation worse. The group, which counts among its contributors former Erie County Democratic Party Chairman and one-time One Niagara co-owner Steve Pigeon, came clean and admitted, under pressure from the local media that it was responsible for the now-infamous anonymous campaign mailer that lauded Fruscione for standing firm on the hotel deal while accusing developer Mark Hamister of attempting to run a “con game” by daring to advance the project here. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page