Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 20, 2012

EDITORIAL: Gun control - not ban - should start solution

Niagara Gazette — Discussion about how to end gun violence in this country has dominated the national conversation for days, following the horrific events in Newtown, Conn. Friday.

Talk of quick-fixes, from banning and destroying all firearms to arming every citizen with an automatic rifle to intimidate criminals from taking actions on thoughts of violence, have begun to dominate both Internet chatter and that of Washington politicians.

The problem with these extreme options is they’re impossible to accomplish.

Mass shootings, as President Barack Obama said Sunday addressing the nation from the previously quiet western Connecticut town, cannot be eliminated through any single law or set of laws. It’s a multi-faceted issue with its solutions located partly in the mental health field, partly in new gun control laws and partly within schools and households across the country.

In the end, we believe this is only the opening act to reverse the violence which has infiltrated American culture. Guns aren’t the root of the issue. They’re simply a single leaf on a flourishing branch.

We, as a nation, need to be proactive with our approach rather than reactionary; mindful and vigilant rather than headstrong and incomplete. Though the ban of guns would be a favorable scenario for furthering a truly peaceful country, humans are far from the peaceful beings we tell ourselves we are.  With guns gone, there’d still be other means of killing – but the potential for mass murder would be greatly reduced.

There are other fixes out there, ones which are less infringing on second amendment rights of citizens, which was designed, like each of the items of the Bill of Rights, to ensure a person’s ability to protect himself, his land and his country. While members of Congress such as Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and Rep. Carolyn McCarthy (D-N.Y.), discuss an outright ban on assault weapons following decades of lax laws, perhaps they should consider a change which doesn’t disrupt the rights of Americans to own guns while making it harder for individuals to commit mass murder.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page