Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 20, 2012

GUEST VIEW: An eventful year for the Niagara Falls City Council

Niagara Gazette — The road to the 2013 city budget was long and winding. Thankfully we successfully reached the end of that road at the Dec. 10 city council meeting with the adoption of the 2013 budget.

The budget was a success when you consider how it began and where it eventually ended; It was 30 days late, millions of dollars in debt with cuts to services, layoffs and large tax hikes for homeowner and business. Our council took Mayor Paul Dyster’s 8.3 percent homeowner tax increase down to zero and we reduced the business tax while the mayor proposed raising it 5 percent.

The council’s work to prepare the 2013 budget was a joint effort that demonstrated what can be accomplished when elected officials practice cooperation instead of confrontation. I want to thank council members Bob Anderson, Glenn Choolokian and Charles Walker for working in a continuous spirit of genuine cooperation.

A major bone of contention during the budget preparation was the city’s financial support of USA Niagara. The question of this subsidy was unfortunately turned into a debate as to the merits of USA Niagara’s projects and effectiveness. The fact is that with the casino revenue gone (temporarily if not permanently) the city isn’t in a position to subsidize any agency no matter how they perform. When we’re having difficulty paying the bills, and casino revenue has been eliminated, we cannot in good conscience put the taxpayers on the hook for another $3.1 million.

With 2012 coming to a close I’d like to take a moment to review the significant accomplishments of the 2012 Niagara Falls City Council.

In March we took steps to ban the importation, treatment and handling of hydraulic fracturing waste water in the city. This council ban was recognized positively by environmental leaders across the region and state. This “fracking water ban” was an historic moment for Niagara Falls. With this law our city showed the nation that Niagara Falls refuses to become a dumping ground for the hydraulic fracturing industry.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page