Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 17, 2013

CITY DESK: East Side alarm bells

Niagara Gazette — They held the public hearing to field comments about a new liquor store on the city's East Side.

Members of the city's zoning board of appeals got those, and then some last week. 

Several East Side holdouts, backed by representatives from local block clubs, vented their frustrations about the declining quality of life in the once-proud section of the city. 

They talked about their frustrating encounters with thieves, prostitutes, drug dealers and other less-than-upstanding citizens. 

It was a far cry from the neighborhood they knew and loved, a real departure from the days when the East Side thrived. 

One man representing a club for youth wrestlers complained about a broken street light near his place that he says has been malfunctioning for months. Another man told a horrific tale about a young woman's body that was found on a nearby street corner, the apparent victim of an overdose. Then, of course, came the stuff a lot of people outside of the East Side heard about, higher-profile crimes like the robbery at the neighborhood ice cream shop and the two armed men who knocked off a local pizzeria. 

"This is where my roots are," said Joane Giallorto, who no longer lives on the East Side but remains a parishioner at Divine Mercy Church on Niagara Street. "It really saddens me to see what's happening in that neighborhood right now."

Collectively, the stories drove home a common theme: The East Side is becoming less and less attractive to law-abiding, taxpaying citizens. 

"It was beautiful," said Dave Bieszka, a long-suffering East Side resident and automobile mechanic. "Everybody knew everybody. Those days are over. It's a very rough neighborhood. It's going down very fast." 

Even Police Chief Brian DalPorto got in on the act. He expressed serious reservations about the liquor store. Like his predecessor John Chella before him, DalPorto said he's concerned about the East Side in general and he fears selling liquor there seven days per week will only make matters worse. The neighborhood is, after all, already home to a 19th Street corridor that routinely finds itself at or near the top of annual crime statistics in most categories. 

Whether the proposed liquor store would add to the trouble is certainly debatable.

One thing seems clear: the old neighborhood ain't what she used to be, not when drug dealers and prostitutes roam the streets and guys with guns rob ice cream parlors and pizza shops during regular business hours. 

Contact City Editor Mark Scheer at 282-2311, ext. 2250.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page