Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 6, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: 'Fiddler' on the Island

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Show-Goers — Just before Lent, this classified ad appeared: “Fiddlers wanted, must not be afraid of heights.” That was the Parish Players’ way of seeking out some one to play — literally — the title role in the musical which open a two-weekend run next Friday at St. Stephen’s Church, 2100 Baseline Road.

Something in our Protestant hearts tells us the new Pope Francis would bless his Roman Catholic parishioners paying homage to another faith. Indeed, Buffalo IS the city in which the Jewish Repertory Theatre was born in the lobby of the Irish Classical.

“Fiddler,” inspired by a series of short stories about the trials of a threadbare Russian Jewish community, breaks more new ground for the unique Parish Players with its unprecedented five-performance-run. It’s a long ways back to the Players’ debut nearly a quarter-century ago, with one single performance of the scandalous melodrama “East Lynne,” which actually dates back to 1863.

What’s happened here is extension of the decision some 10 years ago to augment the grown-ups’ play (such as “Cheaper by the Dozen,” or “Twelve Angry Men,” or “The Odd Couple”) with a separate production for younger folks. Now, those two formats have been combined, Maura Rustowicz directing a cast of 52, aged 8 to 80. Tickets, some including dinner, will be in mighty demand and short supply. Opening Night, in fact, is already sold out.

Steve Olszewski, who bullied Doug relentlessly in “Angry Men,” plays the benign and benighted Tevye, never a wealthy man. Eileen Niland plays his beloved Golde and Grand Island High’s legendary theater director, Maggie Miller Kennedy, suits up as Grandma Tzietel. Carly Kruszona saddles the shingles as the Fiddler.

After the April 14 matinee, “Fiddler” continues April 18 to 20. To order tickets, call 465-557.

•••

Kevin Doring died last weekend. He was just 52, a classmate and fellow GIHS bandsman with our Joe. He was a terrific kid, if we may still call him that, and for a year had The Java Shop, a coffee and Internet café which simply could not survive its exorbitant rents.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page