Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 4, 2013

GUEST VIEW: All this Alternative 3 talk is amusing

Niagara Gazette — I will say up front that I endorse the Niagara Heritage Partnership position for total removal (Alternative 6) of the gorge parkway. When I saw in the Niagara Gazette that the Niagara Falls school board “voted” for Alternative Three, I started to laugh. None of those people had, as far as I knew, ever attended a meeting, listened to a speech on the subject, written a letter to the editor, or anything else during the 15 years of back-and-forth discussion. Suddenly they had an opinion. There was a picture of Assemblyman John Ceretto with that article and I jumped to the conclusion that he’d influenced them. But I might have been wrong. There was no indication of that in the story, just the announcement that Ceretto was also for Alternate 3. That was no surprise. He is refusing to be informed, as indicated by his failure to respond to a letter asking him to support Alternative 6, which also gave reasons to do so. (The letter’s now under Recent Postings at www.niagaraheritage.org).

So I still couldn’t figure out why the school board had decided to vote for Alt. 3. Did they realize that a vote for Alt. 3 maintains the detour around the city of Niagara Falls — and is, therefore, a vote against the support for removal taken by the Niagara Falls Business and Professional Associations? Did they realize it is also a vote against the Niagara Falls Tourism and Advisory Board; a vote against the Niagara Falls City Council; and a vote against 99 percent of the Niagara Falls Block Clubs — all of whom have voted for total removal?

The newspaper reported the school board had “concerns about traffic.” This revealed they’re unaware that the EDR traffic study concluded there would be no such problem with total removal. These are facts: according to DOT traffic counts, 14,152 vehicles per day drive past Hyde Park School. If every single car currently using the parkway were to drive on Lewiston Road, the count there would still be far less than half of that now going past Hyde Park School without incident. This information has been available since 2010. It appears the school board didn’t do its homework.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page