Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 30, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: First order of suit: Daytime bridge work

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Travelers — It’s going to be a nightmare, literally, Monday for most motorists using — or trying to use — the South Bridge to and across Grand Island.

Thanks to a class-action lawsuit, traffic-snarling bridgework will be done during the daytime, but only on certain days, of which Monday will be the first.

The State Thruway Authority thought it had this repaving thing all smoothed over. Last Sunday it started closing the southbound South Bridge — the one off the Island into the Tonawandas — for repairs, but only at night.

At 8 p.m. or thereabouts, barriers are placed restricting Islanders’ access to the bridge. About 6 in the morning, they’re removed. Following night, up again.

Supposedly, that keeps the bridges clearest during rush-hour traffic.

But the closure was mysteriously postponed a week, then another week. The Authority blamed the first on a lack of readiness and the second on the weather, but it turns out these were just cover stories.

Actually, the Authority was trying to negotiate with activist group NITEOWL (Never Ignore The Efforts Of We Late-Shifters), which advocates equal rights for people working unconventional hours. NITEOWL has now obtained a restraining order forcing the Authority to do at least some of the work during the daytime.

NITEOWL leader Dawn Shirley Light called it a breakthrough for those who eschew the 9-to-5 lifestyle. While she said her own profession is “none of anybody’s business but my clients,” Doug believes he did see her in the employee’s lot at Tiffany’s on in Tonawanda, as he was just driving past, of course, taking shortcut to the bridge.

“The needs of late-shift workers are never considered” in highway closures, she said. “Everything’s done for the convenience of those boring old nerds who work days. Why, it’s been a struggle for us even to win the right to marry.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page