Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 31, 2014

HIGGS: Moving on to St. Peter's Episcopal Church - just a dream in 1823

Niagara Gazette — Back in 1823, Rev. Hopkins, an Episcopalian clergyman from New Jersey arrived in the Village of Niagara Falls and began holding the first Episcopalian services in a little schoolhouse in downtown Niagara Falls and Lewiston. Some records state Rev. Hopkins left later that same year but according to the Program of Services Held in Commemoration of the Fiftieth Anniversary of the Laying of the Cornerstone on May 20, 1923, he ministered until 1828.

During that year, three area denominations Episcopalians, Methodists and Presbyterians, came together to build one place of worship they would share in proportion to their respective contributions. General Parkhurst Whitney donated the land on what is now First Street for a chapel in 1828. During this time, Judge Samuel DeVeaux became involved with the organization of the church and was elected to head the building drive. According to Wikipedia, Judge DeVeaux was a heavy contributor to the Lockport and Niagara railroads, also known as the Strap Railroad and the construction of the Whirlpool Suspension Bridge. He died suddenly in 1852 and he left a portion of his estate for the benefit of Niagara Falls and the Episcopal Diocese to establish The DeVeaux College for Orphans and Destitute Children which was operated by the Episcopal Diocese of Western New York. The college was located in the northern limits of the city and opposite the Whirlpool on land owned by Judge DeVeaux and the entire region still bears his name today.

As the chapel was being constructed back in January of 1829, the parish was incorporated as the “Christ Church” and Samuel DeVeaux and Samuel Hooker were elected Wardens. The first official service in the chapel was held in the summer of 1829 and was conducted by Bishop John Henry Hobart of New York. The anniversary program stated “We should bear in mind that the facilities for a trip from his See city, New York, were hardly as convenient or the trip as quickly made as now.” Remember this program booklet was used in 1923.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page