Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 23, 2014

GLYNN: Army Corps' boat named for surveyor

Niagara Gazette — A sleek new hi-tech survey boat added to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers-Buffalo District fleet bears a family name whose roots run deep to the 1700s.

The boat was dedicated to Robert R. Witmer during a brief program Thursday at the corps of engineers’ complex along the upper Niagara River in the shadows of the state Thruway. More than 60 people including Witmer’s son, David Witmer of Youngstown, who retired from the corps in 2009 after 45 years of service, attended the event.

The Witmer family link to national service  began with Robert’s great-grandfather, Tobias Witmer, who started as a surveyor with the Holland Land Co. in the 1800s. He enlisted in the Civil War as an engineer/surveyor with the 50th New York Volunteer Engineers as a sergeant. Tobias’ son, Christian F. Witmer (Bob’s grandfather) also entered the Civil War with the 50th New York unit, serving as a corporal and surveyor with the same engineering group. Christian died at age 99 in 1939, the last known Civil War veteran in Western New York.

Robert Witmer for whom the 26-foot vessel is named, was age 87 when he died in 2003. He retired in 1969 after 30 years with the government including his outstanding military service. He served twice in the European, African and Middle Eastern theaters. Witmer was at the battle of the Ardennes and in the Azores on the Portuguese Island of Santa Marie to help build an airport. He also served in the Asian Pacific Theater in Honolulu/Peral Harbor, Okinawa and Saipan, constructing air bases. After the war, he returned home to the corps and served in the Army reserves with the 479th Engineer Construction Battalion with the rank of sergeant first class.

In that post-war era, Witmer held key assignments as survey party chief, construction inspector and project engineer of several flood control and harbor projects. He also was chief dredging supervisor of the South Cornwall work during the development of the St. Lawrence Seaway Project, a joint U.S.-Canadian effort that started in 1955 and opened to navigation in 1959. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page