Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 20, 2014

GLYNN: Historical Tours set for this spring in state park

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — * On a related note, an Ohio State University study found that an apple a day can reduce LDL (bad) cholesterol by as much as 40 percent.

•••

WALKING DEAD? Headline in a Virginia newspaper: “Man Kills Self Before Shooting Wife and Daughter.” An irate reader called the newspaper to ask if they fired all the proofreaders.

•••

SIGN OF TIMES: In front of St. John Lutheran Church, Lockport Street in Youngstown: “You Can’t Plow a Field Just By Turning It Over in Your Mind.”

•••

EASY COME ... : A lottery winner should have a financial adviser. Take, as a classic example, Sharon Tirabassi, 35, a Hamilton, Ont., resident who won $10.5 million in 2005 but never planned for any long-term savings. Today she’s living paycheck to paycheck and riding a bus to her part-time job to support her children and cover the rent. Where did it all go? She ticked off a list: a big house, four fancy cars, designer clothes, loans to friends, and trips to exotic destinations. 

•••

HELPING HANDS DEPT.: The Veterans of Foreign Wars-Lake Ontario Post 313, Youngstown, has launched a fund drive to support its many community endeavors. In a letter to area businesses and residents, Post Commander Ralph C. Borelli noted the VFW has assisted veterans confined to VA hospitals and donating toys at Christmas for vets unable to buy gifts for their children. 

At present, there are some 19,000 veterans in Niagara County with nearly 2,000 of them disabled or homeless. 

Checks made be mailed to the Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 313, Att.: John H. MacArthur, quartermaster, 434 Third St. Youngstown, N.Y. 14174.

•••

TRIVIA QUIZ: (Answer to Sunday question): The Buffalo History Museum (formerly the Buffalo & Erie County Historical Society) is the only building left from the Pan-American Exposition held in Buffalo (1901). At the Expo, the building was the New York State Pavilion.

Contact Reporter Don Glynn at 282-2311, ext. 2246.

Contact Reporter Don Glynn at 282-2311, ext. 2246.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page