Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 16, 2014

SINGER: Artpark brother thoughts

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Of course there are brothers who always got along well from the start — you see their names on business signs, etc. But more often, I believe, rivalry (whether spoken or unspoken) goes with the territory. Sometimes one brother needs to wriggle away to create his own reality that works for him.

Which used to be par for the course in frontier America, as it was for distancing from dads. You got oedipal problems (not that pre-Freud, anyone would have used that term)? You got problems with your four older brothers? At 18 or so in, say, Indiana, you shuffled off — generally not to Buffalo, but to some stand of woods 80 or 100 miles away. You cleared the land, you married and raised kids there, you and family maybe visited the home base every few years, but you didn’t email or call incessantly from the cell phone!

And this was possibly a healthier way to go for some, or really, for many.

By the way, that was a heckuva concert by the modern Dorsey orchestra under a tottering Morrow, clutching his trombone. You heard some of the fine old chestnuts marvelously done, such as “Song of India,” and you thought of original Dorsey sidemen like the great trumpeter Bunny Berigan, who died at 33 (too fond of the drink) or Buddy De Franco.

They all had horror stories to tell about Tommy, but would also laud his intermittent bouts of generosity. Temper boiling quickly (and he was around other heavy-duty types in that realm, like Sinatra or Buddy Rich), TD could quickly fire a sideman, then relent the next day or week, and rehire him!

And hey, Jo Stafford sang with him early in her career, before going on to wonderful solo work. But what happened to our brother theme?

I guess so much of life is paradox, right? In theory, siblings have the same mother and father, but quite often, they don’t. Mom and dad treat one brother differently from another, not to mention sister. Then of course there’s genetics playing a fascinating role from the get-go, and this puts us on the old debate path of nature versus nurture, a debate I don’t wish to join. And there are old saws concerning family which still resonate, such as “you can’t live with ‘em and you can’t live without ‘em.”

Like Tommy and Jimmy, right?

B.B. Singer has taught at several colleges in the area, including Niagara University.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page