Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 9, 2014

SINGER: Living in a world of nukes

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Funny how age contingents stack up on the issue. Baby boomers, including “revisionists,” took a lot for granted; however, their parents’ generation who would have supplied the bodies for a conventional invasion of Japan have been nearly unanimous: those horrific bombs with grisly mushroom clouds and all the disease and death that followed at least ended the war definitively. Few American soldiers wanted to depart Europe for the Pacific, or if already in the Far East, to continue on in that theater where they had already lost colleagues aplenty in awful conditions. So: this awesome new weapon used by Truman and still an existential menace did at least terminate a harrowing conflict. And sticking with comparative plus sides, there have certainly been beneficial applications of peacetime nuclear energy as well.

You take the good with the bad? In this kind of existential game, that phrase sounds very superficial, indeed. It’s not the same as putting up with a spouse’s penchant for certain game shows or vacation choices, or with badly-cooked burgers at a restaurant.

No longer are young people demonstrating much against the bomb, and there are no Helen Caldicotts around now, no best-sellers to rival Jonathan Schell’s “The Fate of the Earth” from the ‘80s. Even our idealists don’t want to examine the issue too closely. It’s almost like looking at the sun head-on for a long time. It’s just so beyond the pale that we simply hope the “experts” in their silos etc., and politicians with potential fingers on the buttons know what they’re doing! But we’ve seen big snafus in other governmental domains, not to mention in countries of the Third World, frequently more disorganized and capricious by far.

How does one accommodate to this strange menace begat by those great scientists of yore, who over the din of nay sayers, managed to do the unthinkable by splitting the atom? There’s really no good answer ...

B.B. Singer has taught at several colleges in the area, including Niagara University.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page