Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 13, 2014

HIGGS: Bringing St. Paul's into the present

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — He stated their “initial task was preparing for what was called the Uniting Conference in June of 1967. The conference included hosting representatives from over 200 area United Methodism churches as well as representatives from the Evangelical United Brethren Church. One objective of the conference was to join with other conferences to vote on a resolution to join our two denominations in unity. This led to renaming our church from The Methodist Church and Church of Evangelical United Brethren to United Methodist Church; the name that continues to this day.”

“The late 1960s were a time of tremendous change in our nation and for religion. We were still dealing with the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. The Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. continued to raise issues of segregation in our cities and states until his assassination in 1968. Then the assassination of presidential candidate Robert Kennedy, the Vietnam War which challenged the drafting of 18 year olds by the military and eventual withdrawing of troops from Vietnam, and the Roe vs. Wade Supreme Court decision to legalize abortion to name a few of the traumas faced by our citizens at that time.”

During the time of the Rev. Richard Closson and his Associate Pastor, the Rev, Douglas Wilson the attendance at Meadows increased. Later this area also lost population and both of St. Paul’s locations learned to retrench. The associate minister position was eliminated and Rev. Closson left the following year in December of 1977. Rev. Babcock served as Interim Pastor until March of 1978 as he had been appointed to the full-time position of director at Community Missions in Niagara Falls. He was followed by the Rev. James N. Brewster.

Separate identities of the congregations of the Meadows and St. Paul’s United led to the establishment of the Meadows as an independent congregation in 1979. Janet Babcock, wife of Rev. Babcock was appointed local pastor and served until the end of 1981. Linda Shisler Weidman became its full-time ordained pastor until 1987 when the Meadows members were unable to support a full-time pastor and Rev. Babcock returned, accepting the part time appointment as its pastor. Assisting for two years, retired pastor, the Rev. Kenneth Traxler saw that the faithful Meadows members were unable to sustain the church and it disbanded in 1991. The Meadows gifted its hymnals and an organ which now reside at St. Paul’s in memory of their valiant service of God.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page