Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 13, 2014

HIGGS: Bringing St. Paul's into the present

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — He stated their “initial task was preparing for what was called the Uniting Conference in June of 1967. The conference included hosting representatives from over 200 area United Methodism churches as well as representatives from the Evangelical United Brethren Church. One objective of the conference was to join with other conferences to vote on a resolution to join our two denominations in unity. This led to renaming our church from The Methodist Church and Church of Evangelical United Brethren to United Methodist Church; the name that continues to this day.”

“The late 1960s were a time of tremendous change in our nation and for religion. We were still dealing with the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. The Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. continued to raise issues of segregation in our cities and states until his assassination in 1968. Then the assassination of presidential candidate Robert Kennedy, the Vietnam War which challenged the drafting of 18 year olds by the military and eventual withdrawing of troops from Vietnam, and the Roe vs. Wade Supreme Court decision to legalize abortion to name a few of the traumas faced by our citizens at that time.”

During the time of the Rev. Richard Closson and his Associate Pastor, the Rev, Douglas Wilson the attendance at Meadows increased. Later this area also lost population and both of St. Paul’s locations learned to retrench. The associate minister position was eliminated and Rev. Closson left the following year in December of 1977. Rev. Babcock served as Interim Pastor until March of 1978 as he had been appointed to the full-time position of director at Community Missions in Niagara Falls. He was followed by the Rev. James N. Brewster.

Separate identities of the congregations of the Meadows and St. Paul’s United led to the establishment of the Meadows as an independent congregation in 1979. Janet Babcock, wife of Rev. Babcock was appointed local pastor and served until the end of 1981. Linda Shisler Weidman became its full-time ordained pastor until 1987 when the Meadows members were unable to support a full-time pastor and Rev. Babcock returned, accepting the part time appointment as its pastor. Assisting for two years, retired pastor, the Rev. Kenneth Traxler saw that the faithful Meadows members were unable to sustain the church and it disbanded in 1991. The Meadows gifted its hymnals and an organ which now reside at St. Paul’s in memory of their valiant service of God.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page