Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 10, 2014

HAMILTON: The Upstate state of "Tinkling in the Wind"

Niagara Gazette — As badly as our federal government is run, and that is all four parts — the presidency, the House and the Senate, and the sometimes activist Supreme Court — it is still an ideal model by which our New York state government (which runs no better than the Fed) can actually better operate, but it too needs a major tweak.

Here’s why.

Dr. Prabhakara Somayaji is a urologist whose business is only a 10-minute walk from the proposed Hamister hotel. He was “tinkled-off” with the prospects of him likely having to pay more property taxes than the new-coming Hamister hotel people, and he believes that tax breaks only put an unfair burden on other area taxpayers.

While tax breaks may be judiciously necessary in some cases, as is some unfairness, they both are still unfair.

So then, in Gov. Cuomo’s State of the State Address, the governor pointed out what he believed were a couple of items that he thought would increase the failing economy of upstate New York state. They were corporate tax breaks and greater electrical power distribution to downstaters. Both of them filled my thought-bladder with concern.

Much of my working career was in chemical process manufacturing. I learned that there is an optimal, ideal way that processes run. If a system is already producing, then by making experimental changes to it to increase production will likely cause a calamity, if all other factors are not taken into account. When that system begins to show signs of stress and failure, the way to correct it is to systematically reverse the changes that have been made until the system recovers.

Applying this to the governor’s belief that upstate New York has lost manufacturing and other businesses, so much so, that it has not only lost its economic engines, but also has lost its working populations and their political clout, why then would he proposed an improvement to the efficiency of the electrical grid that conducts the cheap and clean upstate power to downstate New York City-area, and a corporate tax break to businesses that relocate to a power-starved upstate. I say that we should stop sending power downstate and use it here.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page