Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 9, 2014

DELUCA: Frankie's has fans who are sweet on his dough

Niagara Gazette — There is a box of doughnuts on the desk near mine as I write this. They were made this morning and include several of my favorites — cinnamon swirls, chocolate frosted angel creams and the ones with the multi-colored jimmies. I am trying not to walk over and fall into that box, but it hasn’t been easy.

Instead, I’m eating air-popped edamame chips. Seriously. But, that box over there cannot be considered lightly. They’re Frankie’s doughnuts, after all, and around here, it’s understood that a person should not pass by a doughnut from Frankie’s. Because, life is short.

I brought the doughnuts into the building. I went to Frankie’s Donuts Wednesday morning to talk with the owner, Frankie Hernandez, and his lovely life partner, Terry Rolling, about the business that’s been open near the corner of Pine Avenue and Portage Road for 30 years. Terry called me the other day and said someone should write about Frankie. I agreed.  

More than once, when things were glum around here, I’ve thrown my coat on and headed out the door to buy a dozen of Frankie’s best. Sure, they’re high in fat and sugar. But, sometimes, my soul just needs a big, fat doughnut and extras to share. 

So, that’s how I landed at Frankie’s and finally got to meet the man who makes the dough and hand-cuts those doughnuts everyday. And, if you’re keeping a list of Falls businesses that have devoted fans, you need to know about Frankie.  

I thought he was Italian, given his first name and the fact that I have a multitude of Italian cousins named Frankie.  He’s not. He’s Puerto Rican. Years ago, his older brother managed about 20 area Mr. Doughnuts and Frankie got his start at 18, making doughnuts. Eventually Frankie bought the Mr. Doughnut in Niagara Falls and then, given an option, he went independent. About 10 years ago he tried to open a pizza and wings place next door, but eventually, combined the two businesses and now the pizza and wings are just as popular as the doughnuts and breakfast sandwiches.  

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page