Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 9, 2014

DELUCA: Frankie's has fans who are sweet on his dough

Niagara Gazette — There is a box of doughnuts on the desk near mine as I write this. They were made this morning and include several of my favorites — cinnamon swirls, chocolate frosted angel creams and the ones with the multi-colored jimmies. I am trying not to walk over and fall into that box, but it hasn’t been easy.

Instead, I’m eating air-popped edamame chips. Seriously. But, that box over there cannot be considered lightly. They’re Frankie’s doughnuts, after all, and around here, it’s understood that a person should not pass by a doughnut from Frankie’s. Because, life is short.

I brought the doughnuts into the building. I went to Frankie’s Donuts Wednesday morning to talk with the owner, Frankie Hernandez, and his lovely life partner, Terry Rolling, about the business that’s been open near the corner of Pine Avenue and Portage Road for 30 years. Terry called me the other day and said someone should write about Frankie. I agreed.  

More than once, when things were glum around here, I’ve thrown my coat on and headed out the door to buy a dozen of Frankie’s best. Sure, they’re high in fat and sugar. But, sometimes, my soul just needs a big, fat doughnut and extras to share. 

So, that’s how I landed at Frankie’s and finally got to meet the man who makes the dough and hand-cuts those doughnuts everyday. And, if you’re keeping a list of Falls businesses that have devoted fans, you need to know about Frankie.  

I thought he was Italian, given his first name and the fact that I have a multitude of Italian cousins named Frankie.  He’s not. He’s Puerto Rican. Years ago, his older brother managed about 20 area Mr. Doughnuts and Frankie got his start at 18, making doughnuts. Eventually Frankie bought the Mr. Doughnut in Niagara Falls and then, given an option, he went independent. About 10 years ago he tried to open a pizza and wings place next door, but eventually, combined the two businesses and now the pizza and wings are just as popular as the doughnuts and breakfast sandwiches.  

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page