Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 6, 2014

CITY DESK: We're being left behind

Niagara Gazette — They’re leaving.

But then, we know that already.

Known for years.

By “they,” I mean the working-age folks who formerly resided in Western and Upstate New York. 

Don’t take my word for it. The Associated Press documented the latest example of people drain in a story last week that, in part, told the tale of a young couple formerly of Amherst who packed up and moved out to sunny San Diego because, as the 25-year-old female, Melissa Grothues, put it: “We were ready for a bigger city and to move on. There just weren’t many opportunities in Buffalo.”

Ouch. Not exactly fodder for the local chambers of commerce.

While those of us diehards around here can honestly say there have been signs of improvement of late in places like Buffalo — the new-look waterfront included — we also completely understand when we read about those in the ripe working ages of 20 to 45 who have shuffled off to warmer confines to find better opportunities and places to work. 

The same AP story highlighted the disconcerting projections that New York will soon be surpassed by Florida as American’s third most populous state. 

Outside of New York City, the Empire State, despite all the statements to the contrary by its area politicians, isn’t growing. 

Those who analyzed the trend said New York’s high taxes, lack of job opportunities and, yes, the weather (see this past weekend) rank highest on the list of reasons for the exodus. 

Again, valid points all. 

There’s a greater problem around here though and it involves a ruling political class that still just doesn’t get it. 

In the weeks and months ahead, this newspaper and the members of its staff will be bombarded with statements from elected officials who will continue to insist that the tax-break deals and business incentive programs and other forms of assistance they’ve been offering to companies large and small for years will help achieve the ultimate goal of providing good jobs for regular people so they can afford to buy homes in the area and spur the local economy. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page