Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 5, 2014

GLYNN: Drones still on agenda at air base

Niagara Gazette — Could a drone be coming soon to your neighborhood? It’s possible, we’ve been told several times. 

In fact, “It’s definitely on,” says Merrell Lane, immediate past president of the Niagara Military Affairs Council, alluding to the ambitious project on the drawing boards for the Niagara Falls Air Reserve Station.

Lane has been a prime mover in the citizen activist group that worked tirelessly to convince authorities to keep the base open. The future of the facility, across from the Niagara Falls International Airport, had been clouded more than once by the U.S. Department of Defense strategy called the Base and Realignment Closure. BRAC, as it’s better known, is the process the federal government adopted, ostensibly, to increase efficiency. Since 1989, during the first of five BRAC rounds, more than 350 installations have been closed. Although the move is touted as cost-saving, members of Congress raise vociferous objections to any scheme that eliminates pork barrel in their district. 

The harsh reality is that the air reserve station here means hundreds of jobs and an estimated $88 million annual payroll for the Western New York economy. 

Lev Grossman, a writer for Time. best describes the drone: “It’s a quadcopter with four rotors; basically it looks like a giant four-leaf clover designed by Darth Vader.” 

They’re unmanned, of course, but that shouldn’t stir any surprise. In fact, more than a third of the U.S. Air Force fleet is unmanned. In 2004, the Air Force had some 50 drones; that fleet today is about 7,500. And the drone project here could virtually assure a new lease on life for the base.

Spying on the nation’s enemies is one of the major missions for this innovative system.

There are negative factors too, a subject of bitter debate. While they target terrorists, those attacks also have killed innocent civilians. President Obama insists the flights have not resulted in “a huge number of civilian casualties.” The Bureau of Investigative Journalism, based in England, estimated that in the past 10 years, the CIA-directed drone attacks have killed nearly 3,000 persons in Pakistan alone. Of that total, 475 to 890 were civilians. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page