Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 4, 2014

DAVIS: Here's to hope in 2014!

Niagara Gazette — The calendars have been changed, the balloons have fallen, champagne bottles have popped, and shouts of “Happy New Year” still resound in our ears as we welcome 2014.

There is something amazing about the start of a fresh new year. Somehow it stirs our souls and our minds to anticipate the possibility of good things in the days ahead. A new year gives us an opportunity to believe in positive changes. It invites us to be optimists for a bright future.

In order to take full advantage of all that the New Year potentially offers, we must have hope. If hope is defined as “a feeling of expectation and desire for certain things to happen,” then all of our New Year’s life goals, thoughts and resolutions must be made with hope. “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Hebrews 12:1

When reflecting on 2014, I have to ask myself “why”? Why does the beginning of each new year have such an effect on so many people? Is it because the change of the date signals the start of a new chapter in our lives? Is it because we can metaphorically step away from the negative into the direction of the positive? Is it like the starting line of a life race versus the finish line of all we have yet to accomplish?

Perhaps it is simply that a new year gives us a moment in time to have hope for something better ... something more than where we are, or what we have, when the old year comes to an end.

New Year’s Eve found my husband and me celebrating with a cozy circle of wonderful friends. An elegant dinner, live music, laughter and the joy of good company made the celebration memorable. By no means did I complete a long list of “life goals” or “resolutions” with a December 2014 deadline. I do, however, have some things that I hope for this year:

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page