Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 9, 2014

GLYNN: Ceretto upset over plan to divert trucks

Niagara Gazette — While the plan’s dead in the water — at this point — the mere thought of diverting truck traffic from the Peace Bridge to the Lewiston-Queenston Bridge is enough to spark concern.

In fact, Assemblyman John Ceretto (R-C, Lewiston) was even more disturbed that the federal government reportedly had talked about the diversion scheme without any attempt to contact state and local government officials. 

Ceretto noted that only recently an agreement was reached between the state and Canadian authorities to make vital improvements to the Peace Bridge. Angered over the apparent snub, Ceretto dashed off a letter to the General Services Administration asking for assurances to the local officials that the GSA plan is actually off the table. “It’s a very bad plan for the residents of Lewiston, Grand Island, Niagara Falls and the Town of Niagara,” the lawmaker said, “The towns don’t have the necessary infrastructure to handle the increased traffic that would result from more trucks on the 1-190 (Niagara Expressway).”

•••

Lew Holloway, general manager of the Niagara Falls Bridge Commission, which owns and operates the Lewiston-Queenston Bridge, said he was unaware of the diversion plan until it was reported in the media. “Obviously we need redundancy in our bridges,” Holloway said, citing alternate routes when, for example, one of the spans is closed because of a emergency. “But to handle any such diversion (on a regular basis), we’d need significant expansion at the Lewiston-Queenston plaza,” he added. Such a major change in the truck traffic flow would require a careful study of the increased capacity at the Grand Island bridges. In addition, the Customs and Border Protection agencies would need more lanes to process the added influx. 

•••

ON THE ROAD: The storm last week that made it daunting for motorists to keep their vehicles on the road, especially on Wednesday, brought the Robert Moses Parkway issue into focus again. For the morning commuters there was little evidence of snow plowing between Lake Road in Porter and the Village of Lewiston. The parkway section from the village to Niagara Falls was closed. The two-way traffic — one way northbound and the other southbound — was an extra challenge for drivers who could barely make out the road with the blowing and drifting snow. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page