Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 8, 2014

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Getting into the act on the island

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Show-Goers — We have to admit we’re behind the times. You Mainlanders have your Curtain-Up in September but ours just began. And we’re up to our masts in pirates.

“Pirates of Penzance” sails into the sunset tonight at the high school. “Disney’s Peter Pan Jr.” opens this afternoon at St. Stephen, a children’s production, presumably with Captain Hook hanging on for dear life. And then a substantial cadre of high schoolers shed their pirates’ garb for bell bottoms in “Bye Bye Birdie,” opening Feb. 18, another production by St. Stephen’s prolific Parish Players.

“Penzance” represents a rare choice for a high school musical, a Gilbert & Sullivan operetta from 1879 with breathtakingly complicated lyrics, 19th Century hip-hop in 16 beats. If you answered roll call for either of the first two shows, you heard McLain Erhard threading his way through the self-adulation of “A Modern Major-General,” which actually includes a rhyme for “hypotenuse.”

“Penzance” predates and sets to music the deadpan satire of the Gazette comic “Overboard,” sort of a what-if for the contemporary citizen. Leave it to music director Carolyn Lokken, who also directs our Community Chorus, to present teen-agers this challenge. Final castoff, 7:30 p.m.

“Major-General” Erhard” has managed his tongue-twisters while also helping direct “Pan,” which flies off this afternoon at 1, this evening at 7 and then Sunday at 1, in the Neverneverland of the St. Stephen cafetorium.

That makes it triple duty for young Erhard, who also has a significant role in “Birdie,” and then there’s Jared Eichel, who has the lead in both shows, first as the Pirate King, then as Conrad Birdie, a departing pop star with a kiss to launch a thousand lips. Think Justin Beiber, with civility.

With the weather and his exhausting schedule, we failed at tracking down Jared, but did get to chat with his Mom Patricia. Jared’s is an almost inconceivable task. Even at the Shaw Festival, where they pay six-figure salaries, nobody is asked to play two leads, particularly with openings separated by just three weeks.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page