Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 6, 2014

GUEST VIEW: New Third Street investment by the numbers

Niagara Gazette — The private sector is making significant investment in the Third Street Commercial District. Proven local business people, who could have invested anywhere in the region, chose our city. That is a win for Niagara Falls.

New commercial and market rate residential development on Third Street benefits our entire community. More investment means more tax revenue, more commerce, new construction projects, and creation of permanent jobs. It means fewer vacant buildings and government-funded demolitions. All have positive impacts on the city’s future bottom line.

The Dyster Administration wants to keep our residents directly informed about these developments, and the City’s role in the process. As always, you deserve clearly stated facts. To that end, here is the new Third Street investment by the numbers:

• 6 – Buildings have been purchased on Third Street, from Niagara Street to Main Street, within the last 12 months. All of the new owners — private sector investors — live in Western New York. This is in marked contrast to the past, when out-of-town speculators with no apparent redevelopment plans owned much of the street.

• $803,000 – Total price paid by three different local development groups to purchase the buildings. The previous owners were willing to sell, and the new owners were willing to spend their own money upfront.

• 27,000 square feet – Amount of commercial and residential space being renovated and modernized by the new owners. The majority of this space has until now sat vacant.

• $1.7 million – The total investment, including purchase prices and renovations, being put into the development of these properties.

 $80,000 – Total amount of casino funds being contributed to three separate building renovations, as approved by the NFC Board earlier this month. These grants will be dedicated to hard costs: apartment renovation, building improvements, and the purchase of equipment. All grants are dollar-for-dollar matches with the owner, with public funds to be delivered when the work is complete and inspected, not upfront. If the legal conditions of the grant are not met, the funds are not turned over. The Niagara Falls Community Development Department is also working with the new owners to obtain matching storefront improvement grants from federal and Empire State Development sources, not city funds.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents Obama Reassures Japan on China Raw: Car Crashes Into San Antonio Pool Time Magazine Announces Top Influencers List Raw: Angry Relatives Confront SKorea Officials Bigger Riders Means Bigger Horses Out West Yankees Pineda Ejected for Pine Tar Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page