Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 29, 2013

Glynn's glimpse of 2014

Niagara Gazette — EDITOR’S NOTE: This is Don Glynn’s forecast for 2014. Last year, the margin of error was 99.8 percent.

JAN. 1: New Year’s reception at city hall erupts into heated debate when Mayor Dyster asks city council to approve a $75,000 pay hike for city administrator. 

JAN. 10: City Administrator Donna Owens discloses that she has turned down lucrative job offers in Malta Bend, Mo., Big Tree, Ore., and Hay River, Northwest Territories, Canada. 

FEB. 2: (Ground Hog Day) Punxsutawney Phil spots his shadow, a sign that the final design for the north section of the Moses Parkway won’t be released for another six months.

MARCH 17: Twenty-inch snowfall paralyzes City of Niagara Falls. Seneca Niagara Casino has record attendance. 

MARCH 25: Canada Post raises cost of first-class stamp to $1 and ends all home delivery.

MARCH 26: Gridlock at international bridges. Niagara Falls Bridge commission officials say the four-hour delays to cross the border are due to Canadians bringing their mail to the Main Post Office here. 

APRIL 1: Gov. Cuomo to visit Niagara Falls next week to distribute report cards to pupils at Henry J. Kalfas Elementary School.

APRIL 10: Latest Quinnipiac Poll shows Cuomo’s approval rating has dropped 37 points. Downstate residents livid that the governor spends too much time in Lewiston, Wrights Corners, Middleport and Newfane. 

APRIL 15: A banner headline in the Albany Times Union: “Cuomo to Stay Overnight in Capital.”

MAY 1: Math scores of middle school students in the Niagara Falls School District lowest in the state.

MAY 7: Niagara Falls Board of Education approves hiring two new specialists, at $110,000 each, to study the reasons for poor math scores.

MAY 26: Tourist season kicks off with countless Greenpeace activists protesting the start of another jet boat operation in the lower Niagara River.

MAY 29: Jet boat crews from both sides of the border rescue Greenpeace demonstrators who were dumped into the river when their sailboat flipped over.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page