Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 28, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Before it goes; here's 2013 in prose

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Prognosticators,

Did you think we’d wait ‘til later?

 

Just four days left in Two-13,

Did year leave us glad or hurting?

 

Terror struck at Marathon

Boston bravely still moved on

 

Puff of smoke, then Pope Francis,

Giving Catholics new answers

 

Signs and voters called for retract

Of what state defined as SAFE Act

 

Roadwork disrupted subway train

As car traffic returned to Main

 

Millions squandered in this manner,

Can we go back and fine the planner?

 

Bridgework put a crimp in summer,

Right into fall, what a bummer!

 

But engineers from way afar

Picked span for their calendar

 

Chamber’s Yule parade was bolder;

Glad, though, that it wasn’t colder.

 

Voting quiet, nearly stupor;

Hottest race, for highway super. 

Last-moment block sealed grid team’s fate;

Victors then went to Final, State.

 

Girls’ basketball also reckoned

With defeat in final second.

 

UB grid team, it did great work,

Too bad its jerseys said “New York.”

 

Bills, we’d rather not remember;

Never play beyond December.

 

Ice team adds no joy to our life,

The Sabres cut like butter knife.

 

“Fiddler” hit roof at St. Stephen;

Comm Chorus saw none were leavin’

 

So many passed along in year:

Miss Funicello, Mouseketeer;

 

Nel Mandela, fought for freedom;

Tom Clancy, so many’d read ‘im;

 

Roger Ebert did movies rate;

Jean Stapleton, ‘twas “Archie’s” mate; 

 

Jack Klugman was “Odd’s Couple’s” slob;

James Gandolfini, whacked for mob. 

 

Miss the laughs of Jonny Winters,

Esther Williams, queen of swimmers.

 

Louis Turco, Ted Liaros:

Hot dog kings of untold hours.

 

And then off rode one Pete O’Toole;

His “Lawrence” was an acting school.

 

Isle mourned loss of Billie Harper;

School aide made lives much sharper.

 

Gone too soon was Kevin Doring,

And Joan Droit, students adoring.

 

And now year flips to two-14,

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents Obama Reassures Japan on China Raw: Car Crashes Into San Antonio Pool Time Magazine Announces Top Influencers List Raw: Angry Relatives Confront SKorea Officials Bigger Riders Means Bigger Horses Out West Yankees Pineda Ejected for Pine Tar Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page