Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 26, 2013

GLYNN: A hard look at Rockefeller Drug Laws

Niagara Gazette — It’s a milestone mostly overlooked by the U.S. media focusing so much on President Obama’s health care plan, the inability of federal lawmakers to resolve serious budget issues, and the growing unrest and turmoil around the globe.

In fact, it’s hard to believe that it was 40 years ago when the New York governor and state lawmakers pushed through what became known as the draconian “Rockefeller Drug Laws.” The prime supporter of that legislation was Gov. Nelson A. Rockefeller, the state chief executive from 1959 to 1973. Those laws increased the penalties for selling or possessing a few ounces of drugs, like heroin or marijuana, to a minimum of 15 years to life in prison.

“We arrested millions of people and built new jails in the state,” said Brian Mann, a reporter for North Country Public Radio and director of the Prison Time Media Project, an effort that has evaluated the effects of the failed drug laws.

Mann lashes out at the revisionist historians who contend that the drug laws were nothing more than the white people’s attack on black people. “In fact, the black community staunchly supported those Draconian (drug) laws,” Mann argues. The bottom line, he adds, “Those laws simply didn’t work. They didn’t stop it (drug traffic). They just put millions of people behind bars.”

It’s time to re-think the problem and, more importantly, the way society deals with it, according to Mann who was a recent guest on popular PBS program “New York Now” (WNED-TV).

•••

DELAY CITED: Reporters covering Gov. Cuomo’s final cabinet conference of the year were eager to find out the status of the long-awaiting state Department of Health report on the potential impact of hydrofracking on the environment. State Health Commissioner Dr. Nirav Shav, a Buffalo native, said his department needed more time to study the findings. When a reporter reminded Shav that he had predicted in January that the report would be released soon, the physician said: “It will be released when I complete the study of the findings.” Hydrofracking, or fracking as it’s called, is a process of drilling to extract oil and natural gas from shale rock formations. At present, New York State has a ban on the process until, Cuomo has made it clear a decision will not be made until results of the health study are reviewed.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page