Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 25, 2013

BRADBERRY: What IS Christmas, really?

Niagara Gazette — The National Retail Federation projected holiday sales to rise 3.9 percent this year to $602.1 billion. At least $72 billion of that will be spent on “obligatory holiday season travel” according to Hotwire’s American Travel Behavior Survey conducted by Harris International earlier this year.

And pollster Gallup’s analysis indicated that on average, American adults will spend $786 on Christmas gifts this year. “U.S. Adults’ Estimate of Their Total Christmas Spending” concluded last October that “Nearly nine in 10 U.S. adults say they will spend some amount of money this year on Christmas gifts.”

Thirty percent, identical to last year, plan to spend at least $1,000, and half plan to spend at least $500. Only three percent intend to spend less than $100.”

Apparently, two of the hottest gifts this year, the PlayStation4 and the Xbox One will set some parents back at least $400 to $500 while gift cards will likely top millions of wish lists again this year.

Gallup further reported that last year Americans spent just over $400 on gifts for family, $75 for friends, and about $25 on gifts for co-workers while nearly 60 percent of shoppers purchased gifts for themselves.

There are several annual shopping surveys that try to predict our holiday shopping habits, though they rarely agree on the precise numbers, they also rarely miss the trends.

One shopping analyst’s website known as “the Prowl” conducted a survey of 511 mothers on holiday spending finding that “mothers expect to spend $224 on average for gifts for each child and almost the same amount on gifts for their husband or partner.”

I’m certainly not trying to sound like Scrooge, here, but I have to ask, “Why do we do this, what’s the point?”

While I completely get and appreciate the concept of exchanging gifts at this time of year, I must admit, I don’t quite comprehend the emphasis on the economy of it all.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page