Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 16, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Legacy: A gift to us

Niagara Gazette — One Sunday, in April last spring, our community came out for a wake held for Annie Mae Moore at Mount Erie Baptist Church and came out they did. Cars were parked on neighboring streets for blocks around. It was indicative of how well known the Moore family is and how they touched the lives of so many.  

Annie Mae was one of the “James sisters” they were all very close, friendly, generous and they would always be together and that is how we always will remember them: Their legacy.

As condolences were being made, in what can only be described as the most unselfish act that one could imagine, the Holland sisters entered in “together.” They came to share this family’s grief, having just attended a Homegoing Service for their mother the day before, with the interment forthcoming. 

This was a reflection of their mother Wanda Holland and the person she was: Her legacy. With the passing of our citizens (especially our elderly) we reflect on their lives as well as our own.  There is no greater gift than the gift of immortality. We all know the history, of our early communities in the city, Erie Avenue, site of the Community Center whose directors included Romania Grisby, John M. Pollard Sr.and Aaron L. Griffith. The Sunset Club, Murphy’s Grill, pool rooms, boarding houses, beauty and barbershops were establishments that are still remembered and spoke about.

William Rudolph was the first black bricklayer in Niagara Falls and Bloneva Bond professionally served as a community activist. Joseph H. Profit, supervisor on the Niagara County Board, the first black to serve in such a capacity along with Arthur Ray in his position on the Board of Education, these legacies have paved the way for many today.

The Williamson family through generations provides families a dignified approach to every aspect of funeral services. The legacy of our religious leaders and churches will always be highly revered, such as the Rev. H. Edward Whitaker held services in Crick Hall, the Rev. Edgar Huff of St. Johns AME Church, the Rev J.M. Bradley of Mount Erie Baptist Church and the Rev. Glen Raybon of the Trinity Baptist Church.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page