Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 4, 2012

HIGGS: Cheers for the Niagara Beautification Commission

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Part of the mission of NBC is to encourage others to follow our goal of a clean and beautiful place to live and work and we do that by recognizing those businesses who strive to keep their place of business in good condition and make a special effort to add beauty to their surroundings. The recognition is the presentation on a monthly (well almost every month) of our Spotlight Award. Member Mary Jo Zacher suggested this idea and named it and it has been going on for several years beginning with the first award to the Red Coach Inn in 2007 to the latest one last Friday at Foley’s Tavern on Buffalo Avenue. More on that later.

Another way NBC recognizes those who contribute is our annual awards luncheon held in September each year. Recipients are selected from within a predetermined theme and they could be individuals, business owners, volunteers, senior citizens, organizations and the like. We usually stay within our own boundaries within the City of Niagara Falls as we do for all of our activities but everyone and everything is fair game. This event began back in the early days of the Chamber of Commerce oversight but it has gained momentum during recent years. Honorees have included parks, both private and public, volunteers from outside the city, beautiful people, art galleries and museums and our local college and university providing volunteers and services to the city and residents.

NBC has been involved in the design, implementation and maintenance of city entranceway beginning with Cal Babcock who occasionally still works solo in certain spots. I recall the year the Niagara County Community College landscape design students created the welcome area near the Niagara Falls Airport for NBC and even provided students to do some of the work. It is now under discussion to update this spot which is very difficult from a safety aspect for worker bees to move equipments and plantings in and out. A small group of volunteers made a BIG impact on the John B. Daly Boulevard median annual maintenance chores. When they finished weeding the end of the strip, it was time to begin again from the starting point. They also selected plantings when the City Parks Department took the project back under its wing. During the Beautify Niagara campaign the Dyster Family and Friends cleaned up the Whirlpool Bridge entry and Main Street Business & Professional Association works each year on the entry at Ontario and Main. These partnerships are important and needed by this organization as every person counts.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Popeye's '7-Minute' guide to educating southerners -- and me! Writer Mark Twain said that when he 14, his father was so ignorant that he could hardly stand to have the old man around. But upon turning 21, Twain said that he was astonished by how much his father had learned in just seven years.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bianco mug 072514 GUESTVIEW: Business First ranking casts Falls in a new light There are those in the community who like to cite Business First's annual rankings of school districts and speak unfavorably about Niagara Falls' low standing.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • CHEERS AND JEERS: The best --Â and worst -- of the week of July 25 It sure sounds like the Buffalo Bills really will be "Living on a Prayer" as far as Western New York is concerned if the team is purchased by the prospective ownership group that includes rocker Jon Bon Jovi.

    July 25, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page