Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 2, 2012

COPS NOTEBOOK: Feeling storm's impact

Niagara Gazette — Ok ... here are some thoughts I collected as I sat around the pool of a Los Angeles hotel this week, trying, and I do mean trying to get back to Western New York.

(Hey reporters like to be where the action is.)

Watching Hurricane Sandy slam into the Delaware, Maryland and especially the Jersey shore and lower Manhattan was scary stuff. 

I've covered some severe weather events in my career, including one hurricane in Florida, and what you saw reporters from CNN, the Weather Channel and other news networks experiencing was the real deal. The wind was wicked, blowing debris and falling trees caused many deaths, and finally, the storm surge, the relentlessly rising water was the biggest blow.

Oh, and don't forget the fires sparked by electrical shorts in the water and broken natural gas connections. 

I've never been the victim of a flood or a fire. I've never come home to find by home a smoldering pile of ashes or seen all my life's possession water logged or floating away. I can't even imagine what that is like. Watching it all unfold from more han 3,000 miles away I felt a sickness in the pit of my stomach.

Thankfully, those of us who call Western New York home escaped Sandy's punch in the gut. Heck, we even dodged the 3 to 5 feet of snow that pounded West Virginia (though we do have some experience at least with that aspect of Mother Nature).

I know the folks in Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey and Manhattan will survive this. In particular, I expect my friends in Jersey and the "City" to rebound and rebuild to something even better than what they lost.

But they can't do all by themselves. 

Look, I know there's a lot of richer folks in the storm-ravaged areas than what we have here. But the majority of the residents where Sandy struck are hard working, middle class people who need our help.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Fire Engulfs Tower Block in China Ocean Drones Making Waves in Research World Breakfast Foods Are Getting Pricier Raw: Ferry Captain Received Medical Treatment Hundreds Gather for Denver Pot Rally on Easter Transcript Reveals Confusion in Ferry Evacuation Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page