Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 23, 2014

GLYNN: Mayors say their efforts are slighted

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — •••

A CLOSE CALL: Firemen rescued two race horses last week from a large pond in Stevensville, Ont., close to Crystal Beach. One of the horses was coaxed out of the freezing water but the firefighters used a winch to pull the second one free. Witnesses praised the efforts of the firemen. The good news: a vet confirmed the horses emerged in fine shape, On a related noted, the Fort Erie Race Track will resume operations this spring, contrary to earlier reports there would be thoroughbred racing at the once-popular oval.

•••

SIGN OF THE SEASON: As you might expect with a break in the weather, those potholes are back to haunt motorists. Public works employees in countless Western New York areas will have their hands full. And, of course, some people argue that the pothole they struck is worse than any other around.

At present, on Whirlpool Street close to the exit at the Whirlpool Rapids Bridge, there are holes where you could easily damage or destroy a tire. Fortunately, the worst section is blocked by cones but it still creates a real eyesore for motorists entering the U.S. and turning right toward downtown Niagara Falls. 

•••

HELPING HANDS DEPT.: If you’re planning on attending the St. Patrick’s Day Party March 17 at the Conference and Events Center Niagara Falls, remember the Ancient Order of Hibernians and the Ladies AOH will be collecting non-perishable food items at the door. Kathleen G. Florence, a spokesperson for the AOH celebration that will include one of the world’s shortest parades, said all donations will go the Heart, Love & Soul Food Pantry, 939 Ontario Ave., Niagara Falls.

•••

TRIVIA QUIZ: Name the New York-based magazine that ceased publication in 1972 after 36 years of publication. (Answer Thursday).

•••

QUOTE OF THE WEEK: “He talks the talk — but won’t walk the walk” — a New York Post reference to New York City Mayor de Blasio caught on camera in a blatant jaywalking violation. The new mayor has been preaching pedestrian safety from the day he took office.

Contact Reporter Don Glynn at 282-2311, ext. 2246.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page