Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 22, 2014

GUEST VIEW: Education Investment Tax Credit would help all schools

Niagara Gazette — The New York State Legislature is considering a bill to increase investment in education in New York state: the Education Investment Tax Credit Act. This bill to create a new state tax credit would provide a dollar-for-dollar credit against New York personal income, corporate franchise, bank and insurance taxes for donations to education-related entities, up to a maximum of 75 percent of tax liability.

If enacted, this bill would go beyond what is provided to education from property taxes and state aid by encouraging greater charitable donations to individual public schools, school districts and nonprofit community-based organizations that provide programs in public schools.

It also would mean more scholarship opportunities for children, especially those from low-income and middle class families who otherwise cannot access or afford quality schooling. And, this bill would encourage donations to organizations that fund teacher-proposed projects and provide a $100 tax credit for teachers to purchase classroom supplies.

As currently proposed, when fully implemented the Education Investment Tax Credit would increase charitable donations from individuals and businesses for education by up to $300 million each year. As a tax proposal, this bill would not affect the amount of state aid for public schools. Instead, it would ensure added investment in education from among the many tax proposals now being considered by the state.

The New York state Senate has twice passed this bill with the support of area Sen. George Maziarz. With the state budget due to be enacted by April 1, the Education Investment Tax Credit is precisely the kind of investment our state should encourage.

Even with higher state aid to education and more pre-k funding expected in the new budget, too many school districts will have insufficient support to provide a well-rounded education for our children. In addition, too many low-income and middle class families that desire an alternative education for their children are being priced out of that opportunity, which will only continue to burden our public schools and property taxes. That’s why we need the Legislature and governor to include this credit in the upcoming state budget.

At a time when New York is looking to invest in our children’s education, the Education Investment Tax Credit would expand financial resources for schools, teachers, and scholarship funds without raising taxes.

More information is available at www.investined.org.

Judi Nolan Powell is the chairman of the Niagara Catholic Jr Sr High School Board of Trustees and Gary P Hall is the president and CEO of WTS, Inc.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page