Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 22, 2014

GUEST VIEW: Education Investment Tax Credit would help all schools

Niagara Gazette — The New York State Legislature is considering a bill to increase investment in education in New York state: the Education Investment Tax Credit Act. This bill to create a new state tax credit would provide a dollar-for-dollar credit against New York personal income, corporate franchise, bank and insurance taxes for donations to education-related entities, up to a maximum of 75 percent of tax liability.

If enacted, this bill would go beyond what is provided to education from property taxes and state aid by encouraging greater charitable donations to individual public schools, school districts and nonprofit community-based organizations that provide programs in public schools.

It also would mean more scholarship opportunities for children, especially those from low-income and middle class families who otherwise cannot access or afford quality schooling. And, this bill would encourage donations to organizations that fund teacher-proposed projects and provide a $100 tax credit for teachers to purchase classroom supplies.

As currently proposed, when fully implemented the Education Investment Tax Credit would increase charitable donations from individuals and businesses for education by up to $300 million each year. As a tax proposal, this bill would not affect the amount of state aid for public schools. Instead, it would ensure added investment in education from among the many tax proposals now being considered by the state.

The New York state Senate has twice passed this bill with the support of area Sen. George Maziarz. With the state budget due to be enacted by April 1, the Education Investment Tax Credit is precisely the kind of investment our state should encourage.

Even with higher state aid to education and more pre-k funding expected in the new budget, too many school districts will have insufficient support to provide a well-rounded education for our children. In addition, too many low-income and middle class families that desire an alternative education for their children are being priced out of that opportunity, which will only continue to burden our public schools and property taxes. That’s why we need the Legislature and governor to include this credit in the upcoming state budget.

At a time when New York is looking to invest in our children’s education, the Education Investment Tax Credit would expand financial resources for schools, teachers, and scholarship funds without raising taxes.

More information is available at www.investined.org.

Judi Nolan Powell is the chairman of the Niagara Catholic Jr Sr High School Board of Trustees and Gary P Hall is the president and CEO of WTS, Inc.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page