Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 20, 2014

GLYNN: Niagara's scenic ice bridge marred by tragedy

Niagara Gazette — That footage on the television news showing the Crystal Beach ice caves — luring several thousand visitors along the Lake Erie shoreline — conjures up thoughts of beauty and disaster at Niagara Falls.

Fortunately the authorities finally stepped in and closed off the dangerous areas to the numerous explorers at the beach.

Although frigid temperatures often discourage tourists from venturing too long into Prospect Park or Goat Island to view winter’s majestic scenery, the ice bridge below the falls has always been the No. 1 off-season attraction. Some people, especially first-time visitors, are tempted to walk out on the ice for a closer look, a dangerous trek that now will likely result in an arrest and stiff fine. 

Perhaps the worst ice bridge tragedy occurred on Feb. 4, 1912, when hundreds of visitors — many on train excursions here to enjoy ideal weather — flocked across the thick span linking the U.S. and Canada. Countless local residents also were heading out for a day down in the Niagara Gorge when word suddenly spread that the ice bridge had broken loose, its massive chunks carrying three people downriver. That meant more rubberneckers.

Firemen, policemen and even railroad workers dashed to the site in an attempt to rescue a trio — Mr. and Mrs. Eldridge Stanton of Toronto and Burrel Hecock,17, of Cleveland — initially stranded on a large ice floe. The first responders quickly lowered ropes down to the river from the Cantilever Bridge (for the Michigan Central Railroad) and the parallel Whirlpool Rapids Bridge, at the foot of Ontario Avenue. A construction crew from the railroad dropped a rope with a couple of irons on the end of it. Hecock grabbed it and, a witness said, “made a superhuman effort to raise his feet into the iron rings.” The crew managed to get him up a third of the distance when his strength gave out and he fell back, vanishing in the rapids.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page