Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 16, 2014

EDITORIAL: Time to get a handle on robocalls

Niagara Gazette — Calling himself “Robo Cop,” U.S. Sen. Chuck Schumer last week called for harsher fines and even jail time for repeat offenders who violate the federal “Do Not Call” rules with pre-recorded telemarketing calls.

Complaints about the annoying, dinner-ruining phone calls have increased in certain years, leading Schumer to introduce the “Quell Unnecessary, Intentional, and Encroaching Telephone Calls Act of 2014,” or QUIET Act, to crack down on solicitors. 

Bad acronym aside, the crackdown is welcome. 

Sure, some people probably love to get phone calls asking them to apply for credit cards or get new windows on their home or pay fees for vacations that they “won.” But most people know how to find their own credit cards, windows and time-share deals without having their day interrupted repeatedly, which is why there were 131,491 complaints about robocalls from New Yorkers to the Federal Trade Commission in 2013. More than 3,300 of the complaints came from Niagara County.

There is already a “Do Not Call” list with restrictions preventing telemarketers from calling before 8 a.m. or after 9 p.m. The penalty is only a $1,500 fine, though, which Schumer says is practically an invitation to companies to break the law. So he’s calling for penalties to increase to $20,000 and include possible jail time. 

Worth noting, there are exemptions covering some callers, including telephone surveyors, political organizations, emergency alerters and charitable organizations. Also, companies with which you have an existing business relationship are exempt. 

We can understand the exemption for emergency alerts as well as for companies with which you have an existing relationship. Other exemptions make us wonder, especially for political organizations, because nothing ruins the mood faster than a pre-recorded call from Bill Clinton or Dick Cheney.

If Schumer were really interesting in protecting us from being annoyed, he’d go one better than raising fines and eliminate the political exemption as well.

The reasoning for the political exemption, of course, is that it constitutes “free speech.” But free speech only allows one to talk. It doesn’t require the other person to listen. Standing on a corner asking people to vote for you is free speech. Interrupting dinner every night from mid-October until early November is harassment.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page