Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 16, 2014

EDITORIAL: Time to get a handle on robocalls

Niagara Gazette — Calling himself “Robo Cop,” U.S. Sen. Chuck Schumer last week called for harsher fines and even jail time for repeat offenders who violate the federal “Do Not Call” rules with pre-recorded telemarketing calls.

Complaints about the annoying, dinner-ruining phone calls have increased in certain years, leading Schumer to introduce the “Quell Unnecessary, Intentional, and Encroaching Telephone Calls Act of 2014,” or QUIET Act, to crack down on solicitors. 

Bad acronym aside, the crackdown is welcome. 

Sure, some people probably love to get phone calls asking them to apply for credit cards or get new windows on their home or pay fees for vacations that they “won.” But most people know how to find their own credit cards, windows and time-share deals without having their day interrupted repeatedly, which is why there were 131,491 complaints about robocalls from New Yorkers to the Federal Trade Commission in 2013. More than 3,300 of the complaints came from Niagara County.

There is already a “Do Not Call” list with restrictions preventing telemarketers from calling before 8 a.m. or after 9 p.m. The penalty is only a $1,500 fine, though, which Schumer says is practically an invitation to companies to break the law. So he’s calling for penalties to increase to $20,000 and include possible jail time. 

Worth noting, there are exemptions covering some callers, including telephone surveyors, political organizations, emergency alerters and charitable organizations. Also, companies with which you have an existing business relationship are exempt. 

We can understand the exemption for emergency alerts as well as for companies with which you have an existing relationship. Other exemptions make us wonder, especially for political organizations, because nothing ruins the mood faster than a pre-recorded call from Bill Clinton or Dick Cheney.

If Schumer were really interesting in protecting us from being annoyed, he’d go one better than raising fines and eliminate the political exemption as well.

The reasoning for the political exemption, of course, is that it constitutes “free speech.” But free speech only allows one to talk. It doesn’t require the other person to listen. Standing on a corner asking people to vote for you is free speech. Interrupting dinner every night from mid-October until early November is harassment.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page