Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 16, 2014

GLYNN: Texting and cell phone abuse take heavy toll

Niagara Gazette — It’s a familiar scene.

The woman in the supermarket checkout lane was on a cell phone, apparently calling someone about the groceries she was about to buy. No one in the line had a clue what could be so important to make a personal phone call while other customers waited. One irate man reminded the woman that it was inconsiderate to all the others in line.

The woman just ignored him. Finally, he added, “If you don’t know how to end that call, give me the phone and I’ll be glad to step on it.” A harsh solution, for sure, but a reminder how cell phone abuse extends far beyond the expressways and downtown traffic.

Even worse, of course, is the high risk cell phone abusers pose to motorists who abide by the rules of the road, always careful to proceed with caution and common sense. More than once a driver using the phone and distracted for a fleeting moment has been a major factor in a fatal crash. In fact, a recent study based on concrete data shows that drivers on cell phones are four times more likely to have a car accident.

I thought about that statistic recently when I waited at an intersection on Niagara Falls Boulevard for several motorists who had the advance green arrow to turn left. Two of the first three drivers seemed to be using their phones, probably telling someone that they just got the arrow.

One scene witnessed more than a year ago was a woman driver exiting from the Tops Market, Lewiston, smoking in the SUV with a child in a car seat, talking on her cell phone while attempting a left turn into Center Street, a violation that carries a fine and a mark on the license. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page