Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 18, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: The 'write' way to do things

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Nit-Pickers — In memory of the late grammarian and linguist J.J. Kilpatrick, Doug presents his quarterly roundup of sentence-structure demolition, as effected by people who oughta’ know better. English finals soon? Pay attention:

“Paul, GOP senator from Kentucky, told the Christian Science Monitor on Wednesday that his recent visit to Howard (University) didn’t go so bad after all …” syndicated columnist Leonard Pitts. But it went bad if he spoke to the English Department, where it should have gone “badly.”

“All the major-league teams are based in American cities,” Michael Liedtke, Associated Press. So Toronto’s one of ours now, eh?

“Citing sequestration — the draconian automatic budget cuts that took effect March 1 — as the reason for the control tower cuts …” Associated Press on Niagara Falls Airport. Wonder if the feds tapped into this one? “Draconian” traces its roots to Draco, who ran a tight ship in ancient Greece, and means “unusually cruel.” The “sequester” cuts of less than 3 percent make old Draco seem like Santa.

“It’s important for retailers to stick to a strategy that is complimentary to their brand promise,” said Martin of ShopperTrak. – Associated Press piece on Penney’s. Strategies don’t sweet-talk their brand promise, they complete them. Hence: “complementary.”

“As author of the 2004 book ‘Why Lincoln Matters: Today More than Ever,’ you can literally say Cuomo wrote the book on the 16th president …” popular political columnist. Sorry, Bob, we did not write “Why Lincoln Matters,” though we wish we had. Exquisite grammarian Honest Abe would have put it: “As author….Cuomo wrote the book on the 16th President, you can say, literally.”

“As Neil Schmitz quite rightly observes in the book forward …” big-city book-review editor, on a new biography of Mark Twain. Excuse us for being forward, but it’s “foreword” in this context. Spell-check, where is thy sting?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page