Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 18, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: The 'write' way to do things

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Nit-Pickers — In memory of the late grammarian and linguist J.J. Kilpatrick, Doug presents his quarterly roundup of sentence-structure demolition, as effected by people who oughta’ know better. English finals soon? Pay attention:

“Paul, GOP senator from Kentucky, told the Christian Science Monitor on Wednesday that his recent visit to Howard (University) didn’t go so bad after all …” syndicated columnist Leonard Pitts. But it went bad if he spoke to the English Department, where it should have gone “badly.”

“All the major-league teams are based in American cities,” Michael Liedtke, Associated Press. So Toronto’s one of ours now, eh?

“Citing sequestration — the draconian automatic budget cuts that took effect March 1 — as the reason for the control tower cuts …” Associated Press on Niagara Falls Airport. Wonder if the feds tapped into this one? “Draconian” traces its roots to Draco, who ran a tight ship in ancient Greece, and means “unusually cruel.” The “sequester” cuts of less than 3 percent make old Draco seem like Santa.

“It’s important for retailers to stick to a strategy that is complimentary to their brand promise,” said Martin of ShopperTrak. – Associated Press piece on Penney’s. Strategies don’t sweet-talk their brand promise, they complete them. Hence: “complementary.”

“As author of the 2004 book ‘Why Lincoln Matters: Today More than Ever,’ you can literally say Cuomo wrote the book on the 16th president …” popular political columnist. Sorry, Bob, we did not write “Why Lincoln Matters,” though we wish we had. Exquisite grammarian Honest Abe would have put it: “As author….Cuomo wrote the book on the 16th President, you can say, literally.”

“As Neil Schmitz quite rightly observes in the book forward …” big-city book-review editor, on a new biography of Mark Twain. Excuse us for being forward, but it’s “foreword” in this context. Spell-check, where is thy sting?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page