Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 15, 2013

DELUCA: New Hospice unit named for special guy

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — To hear people tell it, Dave was pretty well liked by everybody. Stocky and thickly built, with muscular legs from riding his bike each day, he was dependable and caring. Kind of a funny guy, some said.

Winker, as his friends called him, loved to fish. His best friend Rick Dorato, a chef at the hospital, would drive him to a variety of favorite fishing spots, like the Wilson pier, where the two would try to catch hold of some walleye or bass, only to release them and try again.

“He would just talk, and I would listen,” Rick said. “I’d say, Dave, we can’t catch fish if you keep talking.”

The chef looked after his friend for 30 some years, and many of his family gatherings included Winker. When Dave’s oldest son was battling cancer, Winker brought five carefully carved swans to be raffled off at a fundraiser held for the family. “He was like an uncle to my kids,” Dorato told me. 

As he talked, I imagined how that must have impacted the four Dorato children, who watched their father and mother care for a man who was not like everybody else and yet quite capable of giving and receiving love. 

The parent’s thoughtfulness did not go unnoticed. When David Winker learned he was going to die, he said to his friend Rick, who was at his bedside,  “Thank you for taking such good care of me.”

For such a simple guy, Winker touched many, and dozens came to the dedication ceremony last week, when it was announced that the new hospice wing at Schoelkopf, would bear his name.

In the interest of full disclosure, I’ve written before that I am a Hospice volunteer and shoot legacy videos for patients who want to document their stories. But no one needs me to cheerlead over the announcement that Niagara Hospice and Niagara Falls Memorial will spend around $200,000 in upgrades for 14 new hospice rooms. That’s very good news for city residents who won’t have to travel all the way to the Hospice House in Lockport to see their friends and relatives under hospice care.  

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page