Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 12, 2013

Remember mothers on their day

Niagara Gazette — All of us have or have had one:

A mother.

Not all, or any, of us will celebrate or recognize Mother’s Day on Sunday in the same way.

The day’s activities can be as diverse as our mothers. Breakfast in bed, cards, telephone calls, flowers and dinners are traditional ways to honor Mom. Some children give the gift of spending time with Mom, and others may find new ways to pay respects.

In the United States, Mother’s Day started nearly 150 years ago, when Anna Jarvis, an Appalachian homemaker, organized a “Mother’s Work Day” to raise awareness of poor health conditions in her community, according to Studio Melizo’s Holidays on the Net.

Her daughter, also named Anna, later lobbied businessmen and politicians to designate a special day to honor mothers.

In 1914, Woodrow Wilson signed a bill recognizing Mother’s Day as a national holiday on the second Sunday in May.

Julia Ward Howe, a Boston poet, pacifist, suffragist and author of the lyrics to the “Battle Hymn of the Republic,” also has been credited with suggesting a “mother’s day,” as she organized a day encouraging mothers to rally for peace about 130 years ago.

Over the decades, the holiday has taken on a note of commercialism, critics would say, but what holiday hasn’t? The intent of Mother’s Day doesn’t have to be lost; just a little time is needed to make it personal.

We can take Mother’s Day as a day to reflect on who our mother was and how she helped us become who we are. She probably had hopes for us, her children, and expectations that were a guide. She may have helped with homework, taken us to soccer games and band practice, swimming lessons and the dentist.

And in these days of nontraditional families, there may be more than one person filling the role of Mom. Children and teens today may have foster moms, stepmoms, substitute and surrogate moms.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page