Niagara Gazette

Opinion

May 11, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Diary of a Mad Bachelor-for-a-Day

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Eavesdroppers — Polly’s away, helping the Costly Daughter through wrist surgery. She’s asked Doug to keep her up to date:

Tuesday

8 a.m. – Miss you. Car getting 29.1 miles per gallon. Up bright ‘n early (well, early). Big, specific agenda: Deposit wine-rebate checks, shop at Tops on Senior Cheapskates Day and get some complicated medicine that the cat desperately needs, all before meeting pal for breakfast at 10:30.

• 8:15 – Bank’s ATM eats the biggest check. Just takes it, says “out of service” and slams the door. Bank not open but one worker senses distress, opens the door, expresses sympathy, says, come back at 9. Agenda scrambled, accomplishment unlikely. Car getting 28.8 miles per gallon.

8:30 – Arrive Tops along with other penny-pinching Golden Agers, knows he’s got the right day because store’s in-house music is actually listenable. However, all the small shopping carts are gone, leaving only those the size of railroad hopper cars. Aim King Kong Kart toward cat food, but it’s been moved. Check for category signs at ends of aisles. They’re all gone. Feel like character in Kurt Vonnegut novel. Ask assistant manager are signs really gone, or did my cataracts regenerate? Confirms absence of signs, says, “This will be a challenge for you.” If Doug wanted a challenge, he’d dance with the stars.

• 8:55 – Leave Tops, arms sore, head swimming, saved $3.09, but did enjoy Ella Fitz’s riffs over the p.a. Notice that all the regular-sized carts are hidden behind the store. Car getting 28.2 miles per gallon.

9:05 – Back to bank. He says we’ll need to fill out form, then learns there’s a new form and this branch doesn’t have any. He’s trying very hard, brings the nation’s 11th largest bank to a standstill, is told that if nothing happens in the next two hours, he can unscrew ATM and get the check. Leave, mileage now 27.9.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page