Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 30, 2013

GUEST VIEW: City council candidate has economic development plan for the Falls

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — In order for Niagara Falls to become a dynamic city, we need a well-trained labor force. Computer skills and specialized training are critical to obtaining a job in today’s workforce. I propose that we partner with the Niagara Falls City School District, Niagara County Community College, Niagara County Employment and Training and Niagara University to train and prepare our workforce for 21st century jobs. Educators must ensure that future workers have the right skills while policy makers may have to set new educational standards.

We must have modern and efficient physical infrastructures — roads, bridges, highways, energy systems, telecommunication, airport, train station — that facilitate international trade and investment. If we are going to attract businesses, we need to give increasing attention to cutting-edge infrastructures that make business operations more responsive to international trends.

Manufacturing is making a comeback, and outsourcing jobs to Japan and China for example, doesn’t look quite as attractive as it did many years ago. Niagara Falls needs to be prepared to take advantage of the resurgence of manufacturing. The train station is a prime example. The rail project will create 200 full-time and about 400 indirect full-time jobs, with 50 full-time skilled laborers on the project every day for the next 2 years. We need to compete for new energy infrastructure projects, including wind, solar, and other renewable energy sources.

I want to induce a more cooperative dialogue with Niagara Falls Redevelopment to determine its specific needs and what it believes are the essential economic factors necessary to begin development on its land holdings.

I would propose and lead the charge to amend the Real Property Actions and Proceedings Law to permit municipalities to take title to all abandoned real or commercial property. I will eliminate the blight and resurrect our neighborhoods.

Finally, as your councilman I will work collaboratively with the other council members, the mayor and other state and local representatives to assure these policy changes become reality I will be an advocate for investment in the city from all sources, including higher tiers of government. To move our city forward, I will keep taxes low and expand our tax base through the creation of affordable housing. My experiences with our community have allowed me to understand the resources we need to move our city in a better direction. Our city needs results, not empty promises and disconnected council members. I will continue to listen to you and be the voice you deserve.

Andy Touma is a candidate for Niagara Falls City Council

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page