Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 30, 2013

GUEST VIEW: City council candidate has economic development plan for the Falls

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — In order for Niagara Falls to become a dynamic city, we need a well-trained labor force. Computer skills and specialized training are critical to obtaining a job in today’s workforce. I propose that we partner with the Niagara Falls City School District, Niagara County Community College, Niagara County Employment and Training and Niagara University to train and prepare our workforce for 21st century jobs. Educators must ensure that future workers have the right skills while policy makers may have to set new educational standards.

We must have modern and efficient physical infrastructures — roads, bridges, highways, energy systems, telecommunication, airport, train station — that facilitate international trade and investment. If we are going to attract businesses, we need to give increasing attention to cutting-edge infrastructures that make business operations more responsive to international trends.

Manufacturing is making a comeback, and outsourcing jobs to Japan and China for example, doesn’t look quite as attractive as it did many years ago. Niagara Falls needs to be prepared to take advantage of the resurgence of manufacturing. The train station is a prime example. The rail project will create 200 full-time and about 400 indirect full-time jobs, with 50 full-time skilled laborers on the project every day for the next 2 years. We need to compete for new energy infrastructure projects, including wind, solar, and other renewable energy sources.

I want to induce a more cooperative dialogue with Niagara Falls Redevelopment to determine its specific needs and what it believes are the essential economic factors necessary to begin development on its land holdings.

I would propose and lead the charge to amend the Real Property Actions and Proceedings Law to permit municipalities to take title to all abandoned real or commercial property. I will eliminate the blight and resurrect our neighborhoods.

Finally, as your councilman I will work collaboratively with the other council members, the mayor and other state and local representatives to assure these policy changes become reality I will be an advocate for investment in the city from all sources, including higher tiers of government. To move our city forward, I will keep taxes low and expand our tax base through the creation of affordable housing. My experiences with our community have allowed me to understand the resources we need to move our city in a better direction. Our city needs results, not empty promises and disconnected council members. I will continue to listen to you and be the voice you deserve.

Andy Touma is a candidate for Niagara Falls City Council

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page